Skip to content

Quartered Squares Project

July 5, 2010

Quartered Squares quilt

I found a tutorial a while back for a quartered square (modified bento box) which I was ready to try. The tutorial is from Ashley over at Film In The Fridge. I had some solids lined up for another project that never got off the ground, so used them here instead. I made 12 of the 16″ squares as Ashley describes in the tutorial, although I did press my seams open in order to reduce bulk when sewing the quartered squares together. I made a mistake when I cut my first square in half (measure twice, cut once as my dad always says), so had to redo that one. 

I used ½ yard cuts each of 12 different colors. I used them in equal amounts, and made the distribution as random as I could. The quilt top measures about 45″ x 60″, and it still needs to be quilted. I think it will look great as a wall hanging in my future sewing room. Yes!!! We’ve got plans to rearrange the furniture in a few rooms so that I can leave my sewing machine out. (I’m a kitchen table sewer for the time being, which of course means lots of time spent taking out and putting away). I can hardly wait!

I’ll be working on a new project this week, but have to choose – McKenzie or Sanibel? And then there are those Nicey Jane bundles that are still calling me … I better get busy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. elizabeth permalink
    July 5, 2010 10:16 pm

    I love this pattern. You did a great job with the colours. I may have to try this one too….

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 936 other subscribers
  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory