Skip to content

Sunshine and Pink Lemonade

February 22, 2011

The sun was bright but the wind was bitter when I took this photo on Monday. Still, it was nice to get outside for some photos. This is my latest version of the Baby Blocks quilt which is yet another baby quilt that you can make in just a couple of hours. I thought the lovely Sweet Broderie fabrics by Rosalie Quinlan look like a refreshing glass of pink lemonade. I pieced the top in January, and picked up from the quilter on Friday. It didn’t take long to finish the binding and it’s ready to go. Most of the quilts I make are available for sale. Sometimes I post them on Etsy or in the shop, but not always, so if you fall in love with one of them, let me know.

If you’d like to make this you’ll need the fat quarter bundle, plus another ½ yard for binding and 1½ yards for backing. The instructions are simple:

From each fat quarter cut 1 – 6½” square, 2 – 3½” x 6½” rectangles, and 2 – 3½” x 12½” rectangles.

Match each of the squares with another fabric, and then stitch the shorter rectangles to the top and bottom of the square. Stitch the longer rectangles to the sides of the block. You should have a block about 12½” square. Make 12 of these and arrange in 4 rows of three. Sew the blocks together and you’re done. Quilt as desired and bind.  Measures about 36″ x 48″ when finished. How easy was that?

Here’s my finished CHQ quilt top. Now I have to choose the backing and thread  for quilting this week.

I’ll be working on that, as well as binding one more quilt that was picked up in January. Then I’ve got an unfinished project that I’ll be tackling, and did I mention the mug rug that I need to make? And the free piecing study from Sarah and Molly looks like so much fun. Have a great week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 4:08 pm

    I love your ‘Pink Lemonade’ baby quilt! The colours say spring!
    And I’ve been meaning to make one of those mug rugs myself. Let’s compare ideas at our next Quilt Along.

  2. Shirley permalink
    September 4, 2013 12:07 pm

    Love it would like to learn how to do it

Trackbacks

  1. 8 Fat Quarter Friendly Quilt Patterns – Quilting

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 936 other subscribers
  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory