Skip to content

Boxes

February 18, 2013

Are you familiar with the work of Alissa Haight Carleton? Her quilts have a very recognizable modern aesthetic, and I was keen to try at least one of the quilts in her book Modern Minimal which came out last year.

I chose Boxes, one of several modern baby quilts in the book. I thought it would be ideal to showcase the organic sheep from Cloud 9. I used Kona Ash as the field color, and Kona Steel to sash the sheep. The other boxes are White sashed with Chartreuse (a perfect place to use my favorite green!) This is a very simple quilt to put together, as there are a relatively small number of pieces to work with. But the simplicity of the top presented me with some difficulty on how to proceed with the quilting.  I usually send my quilts out for edge-to-edge machine quilting, but thought this top needed something a little bit different.

And then I had a serendipitous exchange with one of my customers. Teresa mentioned that she had taken some FMQ classes with Angela Walters, and I knew I wanted to see what she could do. So I shipped my quilt top off with instructions to do “whatever you think will look best”.

It’s always fun to get a quilt back from the long-armer, even when I have a pretty good idea of what it’s going to look like. This time I had no idea what to expect, and it was especially exciting to open the package that got shipped back.

I was not disappointed. Look at those spirals! And the little squares around the boxes! Each box was custom quilted with a slightly different curve across its width. The sashing around the boxes was left unquilted so they stand out a bit. It’s densely quilted overall, and would stand up well as a playmat.

For the back I used a bit of the sheep and the Steel, along with more Ash. Thanks Teresa for the beautiful work!! If you want to contact Teresa, leave me a comment and I can send you her email address.

The book has 5 sections, each with 4 quilts. White Negative Space, Colorful Negative Space, Improvisational Piecing, Monochromatic Quilts and Baby Quilts. The cutting and piecing instructions for the quilt I made were clear and accurate. There are many more quilts in this book that I would like to try (if only I had the time!) If you’ve been looking for a way to ease into modern quilting, it would make a great addition to your library.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2013 2:12 pm

    Wow – that is lovely! Very cute sheep :) FMQ looks great, I have been doing a little bit of it myself this afternoon!

  2. heathergarcia81 permalink
    February 20, 2013 10:41 am

    Love this; the minimalist design is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 945 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
