Skip to content

Intentions

January 15, 2013

My granny squares quilt came back from Joan’s last week. I was not disappointed – it all came together beautifully! I’ve shown the back as well – just a few strips of the blue prints pieced with Kona Snow.

I am always filled with good intentions in January. Not resolutions, but intentions. Resolutions imply a certain steely-eyed determination to make them happen. But instead, I prefer to be filled with gentle optimism for all the possibilities a new year brings.

I will eat better, exercise more. I will take a break from work on weekends (a constant danger when working from home.) I am going to QuiltCon (already committed.) I will join an online bee (done!) I will make the Union Jack quilt I didn’t get to last year. I will try foundation paper piecing (I’m such a procrastinator on this one).

I finally caught up on some neglected blog reading this morning, and found a number of new ideas to fuel my enthusiasm. There’s the scrappy trip along everyone seems to have done over Christmas. What a great way to make a dent in my scrap pile. Amy Ellis has started a Dancing Stars quilt along which would help me with my paper piecing intention. Alyssa at Pile O’ Fabric has a skill builder block of the month. This one is quilt as you go, so I could work on my free motion quilting skills. And the Something New Sampler just looks like fun.

I hope your 2013 is off to a great start!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2013 1:39 pm

    Your granny squares turned out fabulous, Pam! Love the swirly twist of the quilting — makes me think of gusts of winter wind. What a great start to 2013! I’m so envious that you are going to QuiltCon!

  2. Sheila Perl permalink
    January 15, 2013 2:49 pm

    Your quilt is gorgeous! The squares and fabric are beautiful.
    You inspired me to sign up for Piles of Fabric BOM! I need to hone my skills and I love that we are doing a QAYG, too :)

  3. Kirstin permalink
    January 15, 2013 3:49 pm

    Thanks for modern block quilt along! Love the idea is it and looks easy enough… Since I got a new machine, this would help me practice some interesting techniques and get to know my machine. :) thanks!

  4. January 15, 2013 4:28 pm

    Wow, it looks fabulous. Love the quilting on it.

  5. Barbara Mitchell permalink
    January 15, 2013 6:18 pm

    Hi Pam, this is beautiful! I of course haven’t even started my grannies yet even though I bought the strips from you to make it easier. I will trip along with you. Was that a challenge? I got all excited about this and cut strips…no sewing yet though. I have loved all the samples I have seen in blog land.

  6. January 15, 2013 8:10 pm

    My great granny is still a pile of blocks. Soon, I will put them together and get them off to the quilter’s house. I am working on a quilt for my FIL right now. I should have it done by the end of the week. Then, after finishing up a few WIP’s, on to something new and fun!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 945 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
