Skip to content

New Year, New Fabric

January 10, 2013

As you might have guessed, choosing fabric for the shop is fun. But fun does not always mean easy. As a small shop, I work with a limited budget for new collections. For every one I choose, I have to turn down many, many more.  I recently had an email from a customer asking about Amy Butler and Joel Dewberry. Yes and yes, I’d love to have them both in the shop. I chose other designers this time, but maybe another time I’ll take a chance on Joel and bring Amy back. If there’s something you’d like to see in the shop, send me an email or leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

I had loads of new fabric coming in over the holiday. From the top: shabby chic roses bloom on Pirouette by Verna Mosquera; the undersea magic of Salt Water by Tula Pink (in all 3 colorways!); Dogs from Creatures & Critters 2 by Amy Schimler (you can also find cats, reptiles and bears in this fun line);  woven stripes from Westminster – these blend beautifully with the shot cottons; and on the bottom is Happi from Dena Designs (with a panel for a quick baby quilt). There is more on the way … I’ve just ordered in some Art Gallery Fabrics for the first time. Look for Color Me Retro and Carnaby Street arriving in February.

Of course, with new fabric coming in, I’m clearing some of last year’s offerings from the shop. The year end clearance sale continues all month with savings of 15 – 50% on last year’s inventory. Save 15% on Winterkist, Chicopee and Fortiny; 20% on Bella and Madrona Road; 25% on Flea Market Fancy; 35% on Heaven and Helsinki. And there are even more savings on fat quartersclearance fabric and patterns.

My last piece of news is of special interest to those in the Ottawa area. Laura (Waffle Kisses) has got the ball rolling for an Ottawa chapter of the Modern Quilt Guild. Be sure to join the flickr group if you’re interested!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    January 10, 2013 2:30 pm

    Salt Water is so clever and beautiful. I’ll be ordering some once I decide on a colorway – I love all of them!

  2. January 13, 2013 3:29 am

    I’m happy to hear the Ottawa MQG is getting started!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
