Skip to content

Granny Squares and a winner

November 29, 2012

Here are some of the granny squares blocks in my finished quilt top. I had bought some Denyse Schmidt fabric at Joann’s during a trip across the border in February. It has been calling to me since then, and so was the granny square block I first saw at Blue Elephant Stitches. And then there was a Great Granny Along by Lori at Bee In My Bonnet that I missed. But mine’s finished now, and ready for quilting.

I enjoyed reading all the comments for the giveaway. It seems almost everyone has special memories of their first quilt, and many of you still use those quilts. There were 60 comments in all, and the winner chosen at random was … #59.

Beautiful quilt!

I’ve been sewing since I was a kid and pieced my first quilt top when I was around 13. Never finished it, though. My first finished quilt was more than 15 years ago, when I took a beginners quilting class that taught me each of the steps from cutting to binding. Despite its crazy colour combo, I still have the quilt and wrap up in it when I watch TV.

Comment by Melanie — November 23, 2012″

Melanie wins the Denyse Schmidt squares (325 of them already cut!) plus Kona Snow for the setting triangles, sashing and borders. It’s enough to make 12 great granny squares, or any other project she chooses. I even have a bit of fabric left to include for binding.

Planning your own granny square quilt? You might want to try one of the custom Kona rolls available in the shop. Whatever color you choose for your setting triangles, I will cut the 2.5″ strips with the Accuquilt Studio cutter for you. It’s just that much easier to get sewing!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kate permalink
    November 29, 2012 4:04 pm

    can we order fabric to be cut in 2.5″ strips?

  2. November 29, 2012 4:19 pm

    Ooh, love it, Pam! The colours are fabulous!

  3. Melanie permalink
    November 29, 2012 5:39 pm

    Now I have no excuse for not replacing my old, crazy-coloured quilt! If whatever I make turns out half as beautiful as your quilt, I’ll be pleased :)

    Thanks again for the lovely prize!

  4. Lisa permalink
    November 30, 2012 2:41 pm

    I’ve been working on a granny square quilt for the comfort quilts at my guild. Yours is beautiful. I first saw the granny squares on Teaginny Designs and followed the link to the blue elephant tutorial.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
