Skip to content

Then and Now

November 20, 2012

A finished quilt … and this one is for me!

You’ve already seen it in progress here, but I finished the binding last week and have been sleeping well under it ever since. I used Tuscany Silk batting, which has a lovely weight and drape for a large quilt. The pattern is Wonky Roman Triangles from Modern Block Party, the fabric is Kaffe Fassett and shot cotton from Westminster.

Check out the back  – lots of negative space and some wonky strip piecing work well as a modern quilt.

And here’s the quilt that I’m retiring from the bed.

This is my first quilt. Look at those colours! It was a Thimbleberries BOM called Safe Haven. I liked breaking it down to one block a month when I was just starting out, and learned a lot about piecing as I put it together. Finishing had me stuck for a while (well over a year) but some quilting neighbours bailed me out by showing me how to trim my blocks and measure for sashing and borders. It was quilted edge-to-edge, which I regret now, but it will always have a special place in my heart as my very first finish.

(The giveaway is now closed)

I’m going to do a mystery giveaway … just leave a comment telling me how long you’ve been quilting, or sewing. Do you know where your first quilt is? I’ll let you know what I’m giving away later this week … maybe next … but here’s a hint.

 

44 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue G permalink
    November 20, 2012 11:46 am

    I started sewing when I was 8, and made my first quilt about 18 years ago when a friend had her son. Thanks for the chance!

  2. Michele T permalink
    November 20, 2012 11:57 am

    I have been quilting for about 20 years… OMG! It doesn’t feel like it!

  3. November 20, 2012 11:58 am

    When I was a kid, my mom always let us use her sewing machine, and we were always making funny hats for costumes, but as an adult I have been quilting for just a couple of years.

  4. Melody permalink
    November 20, 2012 12:03 pm

    Hi my name is Melody. Wow your quilt is beautiful. I am doing the same thing right now. I am trying to design my first quilt also. I am making a flower design using black and white theme I feel it is going to take me some time but I tried to design a pattern on paper first. It is a great challenge but very exciting. I have been sewing since grade 7. I just started getting quilting templates in the past little while. I’m so excited. You did amazing job on yours and yes I plan to keep mine also. Happy Quilting.

  5. Frances Jamieson permalink
    November 20, 2012 12:08 pm

    Hi Pam, That is a beautiful quilt, the same Kaffe fasset fabric I used. I am in London now for my nephew’s civil union ceremony and have brought the quilt I made for them. Also brought a baby quilt and one I made for my niece ( the jelly bean pinks/ florals) which I finally finished. I could hardly get anything else in my suitcase!!!

    Cheers, Frances

    Date: Tue, 20 Nov 2012 15:43:27 +0000 To: francesjamieson4@hotmail.com

  6. Mary permalink
    November 20, 2012 12:11 pm

    I made my first quilt 16 years ago,,and I know exactly where it is–sitting in my sewing armoire waiting for repairs (damned Dobie chewed a huge hole out of the centre of it!). And I’ve been sewing for over 40 years–that’s as hard to believe as it is to type! LOL

  7. CarenD permalink
    November 20, 2012 12:13 pm

    I made my first quilting project close to three years ago….it was a table runner from charm squares and it is sitting on my table as I write this. However, I really started quilting in earnest about 18 months ago when I retired.

  8. November 20, 2012 12:16 pm

    Oh my goodness!! That was your first quilt! Wow. I have been quilting for two years and yes I know which was my first quilt. The quilting on it is terrible but I still love that quilt.

  9. Amanda permalink
    November 20, 2012 12:18 pm

    I made my first quilt only one year ago! It’s being snuggled with by my adorable little nephew :)

  10. Gill permalink
    November 20, 2012 12:43 pm

    I made my first quilt about 15 years ago and I have it here – I made it for my Mum but she sadly died in 2000 so it came back to me

  11. Kitty permalink
    November 20, 2012 12:53 pm

    I’ve been quilting for about 14 years. I gave my first full-size quilt to the homeless, figuring whoever got it wouldn’t mind the mistakes.

  12. November 20, 2012 1:25 pm

    I have been quilting since I was 18 years old, that was 19 years ago! My first quilt was a lap quilt (more crib size). My mom had given me the pattern and scraps and taught me how to use her tools. I didn’t quilt that one myself… my mom and grandmother hand quilted it using a margarine cover as a stencil. This quilt is in my closet. I still have lots of fun collaborating on quilts with my mom and my grandmother (who is 88 years old!).

  13. November 20, 2012 1:34 pm

    A quilt for yourself! How nice. It’ s lovely. The first quilt o made was for my son. 13 yrs ago. It’s soft and worn and still used today!

  14. Loraine permalink
    November 20, 2012 1:45 pm

    The first quilt I made was a sampler and that was 6 years ago. I have made several Thimbleberry quilts and I must say for a first quilt you took on quite the challenge. I love the Kaffe Fasset quilt.

  15. November 20, 2012 1:50 pm

    I started sewing about a year ago and completed my first quilt this past spring. So, not very long ago (I’m a bit envious of some of the other commenters who started years ago). My first quilt was a colourful baby quilt that I gave to my baby niece (you can see it here, if you are interested: http://beachedlibrarian.ca/2012/05/08/outfoxed-quilt/). It was not any where near as big or ambitious as your first quilt :)

  16. November 20, 2012 2:11 pm

    Love the new quilt, Pam! How wonderful to make one for yourself! I’ve been quilting about 15 years, but I made my first quilt 19 years ago. Whoa! Thanks for the mystery giveaway — sounds fun!

  17. Joan permalink
    November 20, 2012 2:33 pm

    Lovely quilt! I started quilting about twenty years ago. I made a quilt for my daughter when she was at university. Thank you for the mystery giveaway.

  18. Nicole permalink
    November 20, 2012 2:57 pm

    I made my first quilt 9 years ago and I just saw it last month – it’s not nearly as bad as I remember it being!

  19. pkmegs permalink
    November 20, 2012 3:03 pm

    I made my first quilt about 7 years ago, it was a baby quilt. It is now hanging up in my son’s room.

  20. maget permalink
    November 20, 2012 5:20 pm

    I can see my first quilt sitting on the couch across from the computer table. It’s about 3 years old, the points don’t line up on several of the blocks and it’s kinda rectangular (the corners aren’t square), but it’s still a nice warm place to hide out during the winter!

  21. Agata permalink
    November 20, 2012 6:21 pm

    Hi

    I made my first quilt shortly before my 4 year old daughter was born. She still loves it!

  22. November 20, 2012 6:29 pm

    I made my first quilt last year for my Mom’s 70th birthday… I started sewing in 2010 (by hand at first, did not have a machine lol)

  23. November 20, 2012 7:02 pm

    I first started quilting about 10 years ago, though I don’t recall exactly when it was. My first quilt is still unfinished – I did get the top together this year, but haven’t quilted it yet. (Here‘s a probably too long entry about it :D)

  24. QuiltinGram permalink
    November 20, 2012 8:23 pm

    I started sewing when I was 7yrs old, majored in Home Economics in high school, took my first quilt class about 25yrs ago. It was a full size sampler quilt so each block taught me a new method. Then it sat for 10 years because I was determined to master hand quilting before working on it. I displayed it on a wall for several years however recently removed the sleeve. It now loving resides in my guest room.

  25. amy in uk permalink
    November 20, 2012 8:26 pm

    My first quilt was made in 2009 using men’s plaid and plain shirts and is currently in the cupboard. I didn’t have the nerve to quilt it so at each ‘join’ sewed teh buttons from the shirts used to tie it together! I love mysetery giveaways!!!

  26. November 20, 2012 9:15 pm

    I’ve been quilting for real since 2000. I made a “quilt” for my bed when I went to college. It was pretty primitive I just went with my intuition to figure out everything I didn’t know anyone who quilted at the time, but it lasted for 4 years and kept me warm. Yes I still have it. Just can’t bear to part with it. Thanks for a chance to win some of your lovely things. Janita

  27. Adrienne permalink
    November 20, 2012 11:44 pm

    Funny you should ask that question. I just visited my very first quilt at my mother’s last weekend when I was home visiting Nova Scotia. I was spreading it on a bed for my 9 year old nephew for our sleepover. It was fun to think it is still around after 15 years.

  28. Barbara permalink
    November 21, 2012 12:00 am

    Hi Pam, my sampler block quilt from my first class is long gone but my first real quilt a double Irish chain is folded in my linen closet. It is used as a spare blanket. It is about 22 years old! Love the granny squares hope that is the give away!

  29. Jen permalink
    November 21, 2012 12:05 am

    I started quilting about 5 years ago. Like you, I was stuck on how to finish a quilt for a long time. My first finish was for the birth if my nephew, about 2.5 years ago. I just saw him and the quilt last month. I checked the binding and checked for rips or repairs and was amazed to see its holding up just fine! I love your quilts, the gray one is especially striking and your first one is quite impressive :)

  30. HueiSei permalink
    November 21, 2012 6:24 am

    I started sewing 2 years back and I’m new to quilting. I think less than a year :)
    :)

  31. Kirstin permalink
    November 21, 2012 8:11 am

    I started quilting at 13, made my first quilt in purple and pink. It was donated to te mission 3-4 years ago when that cold snap hit in January. I resurrected quilting about 13 years ago and haven’t stopped.

  32. Sandy N. permalink
    November 21, 2012 10:07 am

    I’ve been quilting for about 15 years. I made my first quilt for my best friend who had joined the Air Force and was moving across the country. Thanks for the opportunity to win.=)

  33. jane permalink
    November 21, 2012 11:49 am

    I made a quilt in 1979.
    Appliqued flowers.
    What a challenge that was.
    I have been piecing and quilting ever since.

  34. Lisa permalink
    November 21, 2012 7:59 pm

    I started quilting about 7 years ago. and apart from hemming pants and a stint of sewing in junior high that’s when I started sewing as well. My first quilt was given to my nephew…it eventually was taken over by the cats. It’s probably disintegrated by now.

  35. JennX permalink
    November 21, 2012 8:03 pm

    I started quilting about 5yrs ago when my son was born- or perhaps a bit before. Taught by my good friend Jenny who made me (and many others) a baby quilt. I’m still not nearly as good as she is- wonder if I’ll ever catch up?!

  36. Paige permalink
    November 22, 2012 2:47 am

    It was actually my husband who taught me how to sew only a year ago so that I could make a pennant-style birthday banner for our son’s first birthday…and now I just finished my first quilt for our son’s second birthday a few weeks ago! I have high hopes but so much to learn :)

  37. Sandra permalink
    November 22, 2012 9:28 am

    I’ve been sewing for over 50 years, but just started quilting in 2006 when I took a class to make a pillow using applique technique, and yes, I still have the pillow.

  38. November 22, 2012 1:29 pm

    I’ve been SOLO quilting for just over a year but, that said, I have been studying quilts, admiring quilts, collecting quilting books for over 20 years. And I made my first quilt (with the help of my Mom and Dad and even my husband) about 23 years ago. It was made with vintage handkerchiefs and they were but into hearts with the original fancy embroidery in the point of the heart. I appliqued these on squares and then they were set in point alternating with solid squares with a vintage looking print for sashing. The alternating squares had large roses hand quilted onto them and the border had a ribbon design in the hand quilting. The whole things was all over hand quilted. I did all the designing and applique and Mom did all the machine sewing and teaching. Mom, Dad, and even my husband helped with the hand quilting. That quilt was a wedding gift for my husband’s sister and she still brings it out every spring to put on their bed until fall. I can’t believe I undertook such a big project for a first. I’d never have managed without my parents helping me, that’s for sure! I’m very thrilled to have finally started solo quilting recently. I wish it hadn’t taken me so long.

  39. November 22, 2012 8:37 pm

    Been quilting for less than a year so far. Looking forward to many more years of fun with fabric!

  40. November 23, 2012 3:58 pm

    I started sewing in earnest when I was 12 and I made a quilt for my niece when she was born in 1980. I had no idea what I was doing, but it was warm and the baby didn’t care.

  41. Lindsay permalink
    November 25, 2012 12:32 am

    I’ve been quilting for about 5 years.

  42. Barb B permalink
    November 25, 2012 11:08 am

    I have been quilting for about 20 years – that makes me feel pretty old. And my first quilt was an Amish inspired baby quilt.

  43. Mary permalink
    November 25, 2012 12:13 pm

    Made my first quilt about 8 years ago for my parents 50th anniversary. Have been quilting in stops and starts ever since. Have been sewing since home ec in high school!

  44. Cyn permalink
    November 26, 2012 3:03 pm

    Love your Great Granny Squares! Love those DS fabrics too! I started out making baby quilts in my late teens/early 20s. My first bed quilt was a farmer’s daughter block, using templates and scissors. With polyester fabrics and fluffy poly batting, quilted on my old Singer, without a walking foot. OMG, this sounds like one of those Granddad stories …..we had to walk miles to school in the snow with holes in our boots! Well, that was 25 years ago! I can honestly say, I love my rotary cutter and rulers…but I’m dreaming of a die cutter now!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
