Skip to content

Late night in Halifax

May 30, 2012

I’m here in Halifax for Quilt Canada 2012 with my mom, and we’ve just finished our first day in the merchant mall. Almost an hour late (missed the memo on the mall hours) but still a long day. Thanks to all who waited patiently for us to make our late arrival. Will definitely be there for 9:00 tomorrow!

The booth was busy, and people are enjoying the colorful display of quilts. I’ve got my Land & Sea quilt covering the checkout table, and it’s attracting a lot of interest.

It’s a quilt I made in 2010 (fabric is Fun Flowers by Holly Holderman for Lakehouse Drygoods). The pattern was published in Quilter’s Home Magazine in June 2010, and is still available on their website as a free PDF download.

Here’s a pic that shows off the pieced back and the long-arm quilting (Joan Read) .

I will be out of town until June 4, so all shipping for online orders will be delayed until my return. For those who have been waiting patiently for Flea Market Fancy, the remaining bolts are scheduled to arrive on my doorstep on June 4. What fun!! That means the fat quarter bundles will be available as soon as I get back. You can pre-order now from the website, and orders will be shipped ASAP after June 4.

And to make up for the long wait, and the fact that I missed the Sew Mama Sew giveaway this time around, I’m going to be giving away a fat quarter bundle of FMF to one of my dear peeps!

Just leave a comment telling me what you’d like to do with all that vintage-y goodness. How about a Land & Sea quilt? The givaway will be open until June 8, and I’ll let the random number generator pick a winner. Good luck!

59 Comments
  1. Michele T permalink
    May 30, 2012 9:47 pm

    I love it how ‘cool and collected’ we are as Canadians and our humour is second to none!! If I won this bundle I would make a quilt – oh yeah, something that I could cuddle under on one of our cold winter nights!! Thanks for the chance! I hope you can send more snaps of Quilt Canada!!!

  2. May 30, 2012 9:58 pm

    OMG how on earth can you bear to part with such a delicious bundle! A Land and Sea quilt would look fantastic in this, but there would have to be a bit of a delay due to the stroking and drooling (but not on the fabric!) that would take place first :)

  3. May 30, 2012 10:02 pm

    I need new placemats and table runners and FMF would be perfect for both!

  4. lynn permalink
    May 30, 2012 10:12 pm

    oooh! i would definitely give it a go = thank you for the giveaway! sms was a bust for me-so here’s hoping…

  5. Ada Shave permalink
    May 30, 2012 10:19 pm

    I wish I was there, but I need some FQ for a new sample for Quilts of Valour.

  6. May 30, 2012 10:21 pm

    I don’t know what I would do with an FMF bundle…for so long I thought it was impossible for me to plan a quilt with that lovely fabric, and now that it’s available I don’t know where to start!!! I hope you have a great time at Quilt Canada. I’d love to go some year. :)

  7. May 30, 2012 10:32 pm

    Enjoy Quilt Canada! I can see why your Land and Sea quilt is drawing attention, it’s beautiful! If I won the FMF bundle, I’d have to share it with my fellow Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild members at our second anniversary meeting coming up in June!

  8. May 30, 2012 10:33 pm

    so many quilt patterns, so little time! have a great time in Halifax ;-) I’m very keen on making a quilt for my mum with vintage fabrics. pErhaps the Land and Sea, but with Ohio stars too!

  9. May 30, 2012 10:36 pm

    I’ve been working on a couple super simple quilts with checkboards, and if I were to win, I’d probably do the same with this fabric. Except maybe I’d horde the seed prints because they’re lovely, and I’ve not bought any. (I’m on a fabric diet. Use what I’ve got, right? Unless I win it somewhere…)

  10. Joyce Mitchell permalink
    May 30, 2012 10:37 pm

    Gorgeous fabrics. There’s a quilt in a Karla Alexander book I’ve been wanting to try & these fabrics would be perfect. Thanks for the giveaway.

  11. May 30, 2012 10:50 pm

    I’d love to make a triangle quilt with FMF. So awesome!

  12. MarciaW permalink
    May 30, 2012 10:50 pm

    A Land and Sea quilt would be nice — yet it would be my first FMF ever so would want to look and think and pet and think — perhaps Granny blocks in keeping with vintage feel with some left for the centers of the Land and Sea quilt! Thanks for the chance to win these beauties. Glad you had a productive trip.

  13. May 30, 2012 11:01 pm

    WOW what beautiful fabric!!! I’d have to make a simple big block quilt, just to show off all those gorgeous prints!!! cyndylouquilts@yahoo.com

  14. May 30, 2012 11:09 pm

    Hope you continue to enjoy the Quilt show. Wish I could be there to see all the loveliness! Your Land and Sea quilt is fantastic and it sure would look amazing in FMF. Thanks for the giveaway

  15. May 30, 2012 11:28 pm

    I’m thinking a Dresden plate quilt for FMF. wish I was in Halifax with you and the rest of the quilters.

  16. Sue Nelson permalink
    May 30, 2012 11:32 pm

    What gorgeous fabrics – I have a few ideas using Modern Quilting patterns – would look amazing. Thanks for the chance to win, very generous of you.

  17. Kitty May permalink
    May 30, 2012 11:37 pm

    I’d like to try a Friendship Braid quilt with the fabric.

  18. May 30, 2012 11:51 pm

    Yummy! I think I’d try some granny squares. Wouldn’t they look awesome with that fabric? Thanks for the giveaway, Pam! Have fun in Halifax! BTW, I did the first Twelve Trees block this week: http://www.quiltmatters.blogspot.ca/2012/05/works-in-progress-wednesday-may-30-2012.html. So exciting!

  19. Hueisei permalink
    May 31, 2012 12:00 am

    So many ideas. But, I will make a quilt! Thanks for the chance to win.

  20. Arita permalink
    May 31, 2012 12:44 am

    Thanks for a great giveaway. I love doing curve piecing.

  21. May 31, 2012 1:40 am

    I would definitely make a quilt. I don’t have idea what pattern I would choose, but traditional patterns look so good with FMF. Lately I made from my fmf (original) and kjr NY Beauties and it looks awesome.

  22. Lyn Smith permalink
    May 31, 2012 1:44 am

    Love the FMF fabric & also love the Land & Sea quilt. Maybe the 2 should go together.Thanks for the chance to win this great fabric. lyn.robyn.smith@gmail.com

  23. May 31, 2012 7:55 am

    Your quilt is lovely! I don’t know what I would do with a fat quarter bundle of FMF but it would be fun to figure it out :) thanks for the chance!

  24. May 31, 2012 8:10 am

    Summery table runners! Thaks for your lovely giveaway!
    boppiesgirl@gmail.com

  25. Kirstin from Ottawa permalink
    May 31, 2012 9:31 am

    Awesome bundle! I would be looking at something that could incorporate some solid kona colours. Maybe Seattle streets…

  26. Wendy permalink
    May 31, 2012 9:37 am

    Beautiful! Something for my master bedroom. It seems to get neglected :) Thanks so much!

  27. Frances permalink
    May 31, 2012 10:43 am

    Sorry the weather is so BAD in Halifax for your visit!
    I look forward to meeting you tomorrow, Friday.
    Thank you alerting us to the free pattern – Land and Sea. With the vintage patterns I would (will!!) make a quilt as a wedding present for my nephew, he has a cottage in Dorset England, and I think these would be perfect.

  28. May 31, 2012 10:58 am

    I would make an “I spy” type quilt with these fabrics and coordinating solids and make the biggest beach blanket you’ve ever seen.

  29. bess permalink
    May 31, 2012 11:00 am

    what beautiful fabric! it would great for a skirt for my daughter, or a summer picnic quilt! :)

  30. May 31, 2012 11:54 am

    I would love to visit that side of Canada …one day!! LOVE Flea Market Fancy fabrics so would LOVE to win!!! I’d probably add it to the wonky log cabin quilt I’m making which takes 26 fq’s!! I downloaded the Land & Sea – it looks like a great quilt to make. Thanks for the chance Pam!!

  31. Anne Simonot permalink
    May 31, 2012 12:30 pm

    Well, I would make a quilt – maybe a 36-patch quilt like some of the ones I saw on blogs earlier this year. FMF and some white would make great 36-patches!

  32. Amber permalink
    May 31, 2012 2:00 pm

    I’m in the mood to build another quilt and those colors are beautiful!

  33. Mary permalink
    May 31, 2012 2:10 pm

    It would be a quilt for sure,,,maybe the Land & Sea. Thanks for the chance to win!

  34. Linda permalink
    May 31, 2012 7:19 pm

    I’m thinking one of the new patterns from Jaybird designs would be lovely.

  35. Dominique permalink
    May 31, 2012 7:20 pm

    This fabric is so yummy I could eat it… Jokes aside, a quilt with large pieces to let the fabric shine

  36. May 31, 2012 8:09 pm

    I don’t often make quilts for myself, but as soon as I could bear to cut into it, that’s what I would do!

  37. Elizabeth permalink
    May 31, 2012 8:51 pm

    I would love to make a quilt for our new house! This fabric is gorgeous – I have a weakness for anything vintage. It would be a sofa quilt, for lounging with on cool evenings, reading a book.

    Good luck in Halifax.

  38. robin permalink
    May 31, 2012 9:13 pm

    Lovely, lovely bundle! I’d make a quilt. Not sure what pattern… that would require lots of thought! Thanks for the chance!

  39. May 31, 2012 10:05 pm

    I need FMF!!!!! I want it to make Small Plates design by Oh Fransson! in her book The Practical Guide to Patchwork

  40. Cyn permalink
    May 31, 2012 10:22 pm

    FMF would be so great in so many projects, but I think I’d have to make a quilt with that lovely bundle. Maybe the Swoon pattern by Thimble Blossoms, with a very light grey background – traditional with a modern look. Enjoy your time in Halifax and spending time with your Mom.

  41. May 31, 2012 11:07 pm

    I am from Nova Scotia! Hope you had a great time!
    I would love to use that to make a lap quilt for a friend who just received some bad news. :(
    Love your blog!

  42. Joyce permalink
    June 1, 2012 12:24 am

    Super cute quilt! Thanks for the download information. I would definately make a Land & Sea quilt from the fabric!! I just found your blog and will be returning often.

  43. June 1, 2012 8:14 am

    Oh my goodness, what an awesome giveaway! I’d make a bed quilt for my sister if I won it.

  44. Susan Lock permalink
    June 1, 2012 9:45 am

    thanks for the incredible giveaway! I’m thinking about trying the retro flowers pattern.

  45. Mary Anne permalink
    June 1, 2012 10:15 am

    Hope you are having fun in Halifax. I love that you are with your mom! If I win this beautiful bundle after jumping for joy I think I would make a zig zag quilt. I have been dreaming about trying one.

  46. June 1, 2012 11:52 am

    This is a lovely selection of beautiful fabrics. If I were to win, I’d use them selectively in the charity quilts I’m currently making.

  47. pkmegs permalink
    June 1, 2012 1:55 pm

    What a great giveaway. I would use it to make some blocks from the Farmer’s Wife Sampler Quilt.

  48. Barbara Mitchell permalink
    June 1, 2012 1:56 pm

    One of my “when I find the perfect fabric” patterns is Swoon. This is the perfect fabric!!

  49. June 1, 2012 9:41 pm

    I think I just might use that lovely stack of fabrics to make my own “Land & Sea” quilt.

  50. marie hendsbee-ireland permalink
    June 2, 2012 7:29 am

    These fabrics would work well with my grey Kona I’ve been saving, especially in a Land & Sea Quilt! Hope you send more photos from Halifax.

  51. June 2, 2012 5:25 pm

    I was wondering when the rest would come in! Very exciting! It’s hard to decide, but I would probably work them into some baby quilts or maybe a patchwork market bag. :)

  52. June 2, 2012 5:45 pm

    I would probably use it to make a quilt to curl up in and cry… my Dad just died and I want a security blanket

  53. Jennifer permalink
    June 3, 2012 12:00 pm

    I was just looking up local quilt shops and found you! Exciting :) I would make a quilt for the cottage, probably “Jacks Blocks” from A Bright Corner, I’ve been wanting to try that! Hope to win!

  54. Gail permalink
    June 3, 2012 10:37 pm

    Great to have seen you in Halifax. My mother is far away in a nursing home and needs something cheerful for her bed-a quilt from this fabric is just the thing

  55. MoeWest permalink
    June 5, 2012 1:01 am

    What an exciting giveaway! I think I would use the FMF for dresdens.

  56. Suzanne permalink
    June 5, 2012 3:58 am

    I love FMF! I need to make some pillow cases and this fabric would be perfect!
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    suzpaton(at)yahoo(dot)com

  57. Jennifer permalink
    June 5, 2012 8:05 am

    I had the opportunity to meet you in person last Friday at Quilt Canada. Your booth was so inviting and happy, and filled with such lovely fabrics. The Kona rainbow solids I purchased would compliment FMF perfectly and the colours are just right for my grand daughter. Hmmmm, I think I’ll have to consult her on exactly what we would do with this beautiful fabric but I’m thinking your Land & Sea pattern would be wonderful.

  58. Kate permalink
    June 5, 2012 2:07 pm

    I would make a “Easy-Does-It Quilt” from Designs to Share in Victoria. I made one, and it is a quick and easy Fat Quarter quilt that leaves no left overs from the fat quarters.

  59. robin permalink
    June 7, 2012 6:56 am

    Such a delicious stack! Thanks for the chance to OWN IT!

Comments are closed.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
