Skip to content

Delighted! from Riley Blake

February 6, 2012

I finally got a chance to try some new dies for my AccuQuilt Studio Cutter, and used the Dresden Plate and Circle templates to cut the pieces for this pillow. The die-cut plate pieces went together quickly. I rarely attempt applique, but just dove in and attached the pieced plate to the background with my machine’s satin stitch. The fabric is Delighted! by the Quilted Fish for Riley Blake. I used Essex Linen in natural for the background – the cotton/linen blend is easy to work with and adds a nice texture to the pillow top. I had an 18″ pillow on hand, so trimmed my background to 14.5″ (the plate is about 12″ across), and added 2.5″ border strips to all sides.

For the pillow back I wanted a covered zipper, and found a tutorial here. The fabric strip that hides the zipper gives a professional looking finish, and I did my best to keep those stripes in line!

I’m celebrating my 200th blog post (yay!!) with a giveaway. I’ll include the Essex linen, border and backing fabric for a single pillow, and enough die-cut pieces of Delighted! to make 6 dresden plates. To coincide with Canada Reads 2012 which starts today on CBC radio, I’m looking for comments on a favorite or memorable book that you have read. I’ll leave it open for a week or so, and announce the winner (picked at random) here on the blog next week.

For those who don’t win, you can pick up Delighted! at 20% off for the month of February. Find yardage, bundles and die-cut dresden plates in the shop.

27 Comments
  1. robin permalink
    February 6, 2012 12:02 pm

    I just read Unlocked by Karen Kingsbury. It was really good!

  2. Tamara permalink
    February 6, 2012 12:09 pm

    Congratulations on your 200th blog post! I love the pillow you made. I just finished reading The Town That Drowned by Riel Nason – a Canadian! It was fantastic.

  3. Gill permalink
    February 6, 2012 12:33 pm

    I love your dresden plate – I think I’d be delighted if I’d made this!
    I’d love to have a go!!
    Congratulations on 200 posts!
    At the moment I’m reading Michael Morpurgo’s Warhorse

  4. Stacey permalink
    February 6, 2012 12:43 pm

    I read The Book Thief and it captivated me. It’s the story of a 12 year old girl in Nazi Germany who steals books to learn to read – but there’s far more depth as it explores the world at that time, her family, a Jew they shelter for a while, reactions, death is there as a narrator – as you can see it’s hard to describe.

    Congratulations on 200!!

  5. Wendy permalink
    February 6, 2012 4:26 pm

    Beautiful pillow! I haven’t read a book in ages. It’s so sad… Two kids and one on the way seems to cut into that time for me. I am reading a cookbook now if that counts… ha ha… Mad Hungry by Lucinda Scala Quinn.

  6. Abi Williams permalink
    February 6, 2012 5:04 pm

    Your pillow is really lovely, i would love to have a go at a dresden!

    My favourite book of all time is Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. ive read and reread over and over.

    Thanks for the opportunity :o)

    Abi

  7. February 6, 2012 6:40 pm

    I’ve just finished reading The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt, which was interesting and sort of fun. Not terribly deep, so far as books go, but I really enjoyed it. I’m working, right now, at the middle book in The Gormenghast Trilogy, but I don’t think I could recommend those to anyone, however well-written they are. (When I’m say I’m ‘working at’ it, I do mean working.)

  8. Katy (LethargicLass) permalink
    February 6, 2012 6:57 pm

    Well, my four favourite books recently have been The Help, The Book of Negroes, 19 Minutes, and Elizabeth Street… they range from (in order) amusing and yet serious, a true lesson in history, the most amazing empathy and understanding I have ever read, and a fascinating look at immigrant reality (And all which I got at the Ottawa library :))

  9. CathyC in Alberta permalink
    February 6, 2012 7:57 pm

    Just finished The Wedding Quilt by Jennifer Chiaverini…love her books.

  10. February 6, 2012 7:59 pm

    It’s hard for me to pick a favorite book, but a few weeks ago I finished reading “11-22-63” by Stephen King. Oh my goodness! I’m not necessarily a fan of his books, but this one was outstanding. I had a difficult time putting it down. It was a great book. I loved “The Help” and couldn’t put it down either.

    Thanks for a chance to win a great give-a-way.

    Debbie

  11. Hueisei permalink
    February 6, 2012 8:00 pm

    So pretty.I love your pillow. I’m reading Absolute Liability by J.W Becton.

  12. JennX permalink
    February 6, 2012 9:12 pm

    A Canadian book of course… surely Margaret Atwood’s “A Handmaid’s Tale” is a lingering fabvourite (I should reread that one now that I’ve had kids!), and ohhh “Alias Grace”- superb. But my all timer has to be Margaret Laurence’s ‘The Diviners’. How I love that book- and have loved it for years and several reads.

  13. February 6, 2012 9:32 pm

    I just finished reading “the town that drowned” by Riel Nason too. I recommended it to a friend and now she is reading my copy of the book!

  14. February 6, 2012 10:25 pm

    My favorite book is Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. Thanks for the giveaway!

  15. February 6, 2012 10:25 pm

    One of my most favourite books was The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneger. I also really enjoy books by Elizabeth Peters.

  16. MarciaW permalink
    February 6, 2012 10:36 pm

    The Shack is a good fiction book to read though lately am re-reading quilting books. The very last book that I read through was The Gingerbread Boy as my grandnieces wanted to hear it (we kid-sit 3 days a week). And, there is always something to read in The Bible. Thanks for the chance. I’ve never made a dresden plate so would be a learning experience if am so fortunate as to win.

  17. Beryl Johnson permalink
    February 7, 2012 12:02 am

    Bebzee. Nepean

    Your pillow makes one think of Spring. You did a fantastic job.
    The book I am reading a gift this past christmas is
    “The Gin & Tonic Gardener” by Janice Wells. Quilting magazines top my list.

  18. Mary permalink
    February 7, 2012 2:44 am

    Stones from the River is one of my favorite books. It was an Oprah pick from many years ago, but don’t hold that against it. Lol

  19. Sandra permalink
    February 7, 2012 9:47 am

    Love your Dresden Plate! Just finished reading Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern; different but interesting, however I bought a Kobo reader last year that comes with 100 classic novels and find that I’m enjoying re-reading the “oldie but goodies”…. so much to read….so little time…..

  20. Cyn permalink
    February 7, 2012 10:55 am

    Love your pillow! Congratulations on your 200th post! The most memorable book I’ve read is Around the World in 80 Days, by Jules Verne…I chose it from my Godfather’s library from a wall of books. I was ten years old and I think it must have been the first adult book I ever read, I felt very grown up. I can’t remember but I like to think I got an A on my book report!

  21. Sarah permalink
    February 7, 2012 11:15 am

    Love the Essex mixed with Delighted! Sadly, I have not been reading much lately, but when I do have the time, I always love an Ian Rankin book.

  22. bess permalink
    February 7, 2012 12:07 pm

    congratulations!! i like light, fun reads, so i love janet evanovich’s stand-alone romances, and michael buckley’s “sisters grimm” series for kids is a lot of fun (only one more left in the series – can’t wait!!). :) fabulous giveaway!

  23. Amy Cavanagh permalink
    February 7, 2012 2:53 pm

    Great pillow! Love the essex linen too. My favourite book and one I can read over and over again is The Crystal Cave by Mary Stewart. Love anything to do with Arthur and Merlin. Congrats on #200.

  24. Kate permalink
    February 8, 2012 9:09 am

    Deafening by Frances Itani. A book that takes place before and during WW1 and tells the story in Europe as well as Eastern Ontario (author is an Ottawan). I love the part where they ride the escalator in Robert Simpsons in Toronto (am I showing my age?)

  25. February 8, 2012 4:36 pm

    I haven’t read as much as I would have liked lately but I did read The Help by Kathryn Stockett and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  26. C Downer permalink
    February 8, 2012 8:12 pm

    Congrats on your 200th. I always enjoy reading cookbooks. The latest I received for Christmas is The Looneyspoons Collection. The Dresden looks wonderful in this fabric.

  27. February 9, 2012 1:29 pm

    Love the dresdens! Latest book for me was “the Help” and “water for elephants” both EXCELLENT reads!

Comments are closed.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 945 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
