Skip to content

Stars from Strips

January 12, 2012

It was demo day at the Kanata Guild meeting yesterday and I was asked to demonstrate a technique for making stars from strips (there’s a video from Missouri Quilt Co. here). I thought it would be fun to substitute some scrappy strips (inspired by Scrap Republic) for the jelly roll strips, and you can see the result above. Maybe it will be the start of a new quilt.

Stars are everywhere this month – like the Sparkle Punch Quilt-Along with Elizabeth Hartman, and thought and found‘s Oh My Stars! quilt-along. Are you seeing stars?

Oh My Stars! (A Quilt-Along)
(I’m linking up with Sew & Tell at amylouwho this week)
6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 11:40 am

    LOVE it! I am doing BOTH star quilts. Elizabeth’s is so easy! The hardest part was deciding on which scraps to USE. OH MY STARS is fun but some of the stars are a little more challenging! YOUR star will be a great one to use up the itty bitty scraps from that quilt…I will swap it for this weeks star. YIKES!

  2. January 12, 2012 3:32 pm

    I love it! I have been thinking of using the very same tut in a scrappy way! I think that 2012 is not only the year of Stars but also the year of Scrappiness as well!

  3. January 12, 2012 8:33 pm

    That star is awesome! I love it’s scrappiness, Pam.

  4. January 13, 2012 10:43 pm

    Oh, I love that! Beautiful! :)

  5. January 14, 2012 11:33 am

    I think the star looks great and would make a wonderful quilt all done in the same way.

  6. January 17, 2012 1:52 pm

    What a beautiful star! Stars are always a fave, especially for collaborative quilts. I always enjoy seeing them pop up.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
