Skip to content

Quilty Highlights from 2011

January 10, 2012

It’s always interesting to look back at the year gone by to see what stands out. Here’s a list of some of my favorite quilty moments from 2011.

In January I came across this binding tutorial from Rita who blogs at Red Pepper Quilts. Now I know how to get a nice smooth binding all the way around (after years of not quite getting it right!)

The Cherry House Quilt Along in February was the impetus for a small group of friends to meet weekly to learn how to quilt. Bonnie, Sandra, Millie, Astrid & I finished our quilts, and continued to meet for show and tell the rest of the year. Now we’re trying to get organized for a more ambitious sampler project in 2012.

I subscribed to Fat Quarterly, a fantastic e-zine that publishes 4 times a year, with a bonus issue last fall. Full of great projects and ideas for modern quilters, delivered straight to your inbox! I also discovered their quilt along from 2008, which was a great way to use some jelly roll strips I had on hand.

I became a convert to Aurifil thread, using a heavier 28 wt for machine quilting and a lighter 50 wt for piecing. Bytowne Threads right here in Stittsville is my supplier. I also switched from grey to beige for piecing after seeing Grace Whiting’s presentation at the Kanata Quilt Guild. The beige blends better with the lighter colors I favor, and is less likely to show a shadow through the stitched seam.

Quilt Ontario took place in London at the end of May, and it was a truly memorable experience. I met many wonderful people from all across the country. It was the first time I’ve seen a juried quilt show, and I was blown away by all the quilting talent to be found here in Canada. I’m already looking forward to Quilt Canada in Halifax later this year.

In June, Kate Conklin’s fun slack and stash tutorial inspired me to make this black and white beauty, one of my favorite finishes from the year. I’d love to try more of Kate’s patterns, which are available as PDF downloads at Kate Conklin Designs.

After all the busy-ness of the winter and spring, things slowed down a bit for the summer. I ordered in a crop of new-ish quilting books for the shop, and thoroughly enjoyed going through them all. Block Party – The Modern Quilting Bee by Alissa Haight Carleton and Kristen Lejnieks stands out as a particular favorite, and I’ve started work on a quilt top using one of the blocks shown in the book (which I promise to share soon).

The best thing about August is always our family vacation at Red Pine Camp. It’s been part of our summer for 13 years now, and I can’t imagine a better place to kick back and relax. This year I brought along a newly finished quilt for my bunk. The fabric from Denyse Schmidt and the pattern from Jaybird quilts was a winning combination!

The Mad About Patchwork summer sew-along finished up in September … 7 projects in 6 weeks. You can find links for all the projects here.

I was off to Toronto in October for another Creativ Festival. In spite of the travel and long hours, I always enjoy the opportunity to meet my customers from south-western Ontario.

Two weeks after I got home from Toronto, I was back on the 401, this time to visit the London Friendship Quilt Guild. I set up shop and also showed some quilts at their regular Thursday night meeting, and then taught a workshop on Saturday (a first for me!) I even made some new friends, as often seems to happen whenever quilters get together.

December is sometimes a difficult month to get any real work done as preparations for Christmas take over. I did manage to squeeze in my own version of quilt-til-you-wilt to finish off a number of small projects. I also signed up with Pinterest, an online pinboard to “organize and share the things you love.”  I think it’s going to prove very useful for keeping track of all the interesting things I come across when browsing the internet.

And that’s about it … 2011 was a terrific year, and I’m looking forward to more in 2012!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy C permalink
    January 11, 2012 6:44 pm

    It was great meeting you over the Christmas holiday – and thank you for letting me do some serious ‘retail therapy’ in your basement shop!! I completed the tag blanket I planned with the fleece and fat quarter I bought from you and I used your oven-mit pattern as well and have made 4 mits (2 sets). I’m still drooling on the shot cottons… I might just stare at them a little longer – they are so yummy. Your blog is fabulous and I can’t wait to see what you do next! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Cyn permalink
    January 12, 2012 5:17 pm

    I’m sorry that I missed your demo at the Kanata Guild meeting. I like how you used your scraps to make a strip for your star. You sure had a busy 2011! Hope this year is good to you.

    Cynthia

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
