Skip to content

Quilt ’til You Wilt

November 29, 2011

I knew I was going to miss out on a lot of fun when I heard about the Quilt ’til You Wilt day that the London Friendship Guild had planned for the weekend after I visited. And after reading their post-wilt blog post, I am definitely feeling the need to sit down and sew. November has flown by, and I haven’t got a lot of sewing done. Lots of other things, but not much sewing.

I’ve decided to do an at-home quilt ’til you wilt, starting tomorrow. 4 hours a day (or so) for the next three days. Here’s what I want to work on:

A new quilt using Kaffe Fassett prints and shot cottons in a Wonky Roman Stripe block from Block Party. Of all the new books that crossed my path this year, this one was my favorite. It’s going to get a lot of use next year.  I think this quilt is destined to be a queen size for our bed. I’ve got 12 blocks done and another 24 to go.

I need to add some borders to the tablerunner, and quilt and bind the runner and placemats. I’d be happy to get at least 4 done, but 8 would be better. I’m going to try some machine binding (I’ll let you know how that goes!!)

This is the raw material for some kind of zippered pouch that was supposed to get made in time for the Creativ Festival in October. Now I’m shooting for a Christmas deadline – these might make cute Christmas gifts for lots of people on my list. I’m going to use a tutorial from Flossie Teacakes that Bonnie tried earlier this year.

And the last thing, which will probably be the first thing I work on, is a Quiltie kit for the Kanata Quilt Guild that I checked out in October. These little quilts (24″ square) go to premature babies in the neonatal unit at the Queensway Carleton Hospital here in Ottawa. I just need to quilt and bind mine before the December meeting.

And that’s it … I’m ready to Quilt ’til You Wilt. I’ve cleaned up my studio, taken care of domestic chores that can’t be put off, and am determined to get as much sewing done as I can in the next three days. I’ll report back next week. In the meantime, I’d love to hear about your own quilt ’til you wilt experiences.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jacqui VMS permalink
    November 29, 2011 5:29 pm

    Glad the blog post inspired you LOL!! I’ve been having my sew a thon this week too…pressure’s on for Christmas stuff! Made a lot of headway today and yesterday.

    Interesting that you posted about the neonatal unit quilts. A friend from my Church was visiting Ottawa a number of years ago and went into premature labour and delivered her baby there. She got one of these cute little quilts for her baby!! She showed it to me knowing I was a quilter. Neat to hear that this is still going. And, this little quilt was a real blessing to my friend as they were so far from home, friends and family when that baby was born. The ‘baby’ has brown up and is doing well :-).

    Happy sewing! Looking forward to seeing that Kaffe quilt!!

    Jacqui

  2. Cyn permalink
    December 1, 2011 9:39 am

    Hi Pam, As I write this you are into day 2 of your quilt ’til you wilt marathon….hope you’re having fun! Lots of quilting going on over here as well – mostly last minute Christmas gifts. Love the look of your Kaffe Fassett quilt…you’ll have to post the photos of it once it’s finished. I’ve made a few of the Flossie Teacakes bags, her tutorials have great photos and instructions. Good luck with your projects!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
