Skip to content

October Giveaway

October 19, 2011

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED FOR COMMENTS

I’m off to the Creativ Festival for the next 6 days, but thought a giveaway might help pass the time.  I’ll get to the details at the end of the post, but here’s the story that goes with it.

Is this a familiar sight for any of you? I’m not good at organizing or using my scraps. On occasion I’ll use them to piece a backing, or maybe a table runner, but once they hit the scrap bucket, they languish. I’ve got good intentions, but so far haven’t been great at following through. I’ve got some customers who are pretty good at it though.

This one is Charlene’s. She came by in the summer when I was working on this, and decided it would be the perfect way to use up her scraps. She came back a few months later to choose some border fabric, and showed me her work in progress. Every cross is a different fabric from her scrap collection. Gorgeous!

This one belongs to Paul. I often take a bin of remnants to shows which I sell for 10¢ an inch. Paul loves to clear out the bin, especially the solids. When he asked for more earlier this summer I finally asked what he did with them all. So he sent me this pic of his quilt which is called Another Brick In The Wall. He was intending to add a border, so it was still in progress at the time. Again, gorgeous!

I won’t be taking my remnant bin to Creativ Festival this year (no room!!) So I’m going to give them away in 2 batches to you, my dear readers. One batch will be 4-5 yards of Kona solid remnants, the other 3-4 yards of print remnants. The remnants are all miscuts, bolt ends, or pieces with slight imperfections (which you can cut around). Leave a comment on this post telling me what you do with your scraps for a chance to win one of the two batches. I’ll close it on October 25th, and let the random number generator choose 2 winners. The first winner gets to choose solids or prints, and the second gets the other lot. Good luck!

(I’m looking forward to reading your comments while I’m away. Be sure to stop and say hi at Booth 816 if you’re going to the Creativ Festival).

84 Comments
  1. October 19, 2011 10:09 am

    Oh my goodness! Both of those quilts are absolutely GORGEOUS!
    Today was the first “chilly” day here and I just realized that I need a quilt for my new sitting area! I’d love to use the scraps to make one!
    I wish I could go see you and your booth!

  2. Cyndy permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:12 am

    This is just like a really neat surprise. I think I’d have to make a string quilt. Lots of inspiration for these lately. Thanks and have a good trip. Cyndy

  3. Yvonne in Minnesota permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:13 am

    I would love a bin of scraps! I will mix them with my stash of odds and ends to make baby quilts and lap quilts for older folks who would enjoy them. I’m a beginning quilter, so my scrap pile isn’t huge yet, but already I’m finding that I can’t bear to throw anything away :(

  4. Shelley permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:21 am

    Both of these quilts have inspired me to get out my scraps again. My favourite scrap quilt has stars formed by the placement of the darks and lights. I was pleased to meet you in London Ont. this year.

  5. October 19, 2011 10:25 am

    I make scrap quilts for orphans in foreign countries and for our local pregnancy help center. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  6. Jane permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:30 am

    I love scraps and scrap quilts. If I won they would be put to good use.

  7. October 19, 2011 10:32 am

    Scrappy quilts are my favorite kind. The more different fabrics, the better I think. I save all my scraps and try to use them whenever I can. I would love to add your scraps to mine and see what new projects I could come up with to use them. Both the examples you showed were awesome.

  8. October 19, 2011 10:37 am

    I’ve thought about making a string quilt or even a postage stamp quilt. Although there are a few patterns from the Scrap Sensations book that I reeeeeally want to try. (I’m terrible at settling on a design!)

  9. October 19, 2011 10:39 am

    I love making scrappy quilts! I especially like to make scrappy backs for my quilts – kinda like two quilts in one! I wish I could come to the festival and see your booth! Thanks for the chance to win.

  10. Joy Melsness permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:40 am

    Hi Pam

    For the past 5 years the quilters and sewers in our adult community have been getting together every two weeks to make Victoria’s Quilts for cancer patients. If I won one of the buckets, I would use it to augment the fabrics that we receive in kit form from our headquarters. They have only the fabrics that are donated and altho’ sometimes we hit something really pretty, often we don’t! I’ve used up all my scraps this way.
    From Joy Melsness, Kanata

  11. Teresa J permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:41 am

    If I won I would cut all the scrap into 2 1/2 x 4 and just start sewing quilt tops!!!

  12. October 19, 2011 10:46 am

    You have such great examples of what can be done with scraps! I use them to make scrappy quilts, softies, items for the church craft fair (tissue holders, hot pads etc.)! Thanks for being so generous to your readers.

  13. Lise Dostie permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:51 am

    I just love to use up scraps, I have organized them in different bins like Bonnie from Quiltville, and it makes it so much easier to begin a scrap quilt. They make great baby quilts, mug mats, coasters, placemats and the list goes on……….have fun at the CNF I wish I would be going, but not this year……….

  14. Lise Dostie permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:54 am

    Oh I forgot! Thank you for the chance to win some of your scraps, they will surely go into a quilt, and please post pictures of your booth from the festival..

  15. October 19, 2011 10:54 am

    I love the Brick In The Wall quilt top, would like to try a similar one :D
    Thanks for the chance!

  16. October 19, 2011 10:56 am

    I use my scraps in appliques for quilts—mostly owls for my Etsy shop. I will also be going to the Creativ show this Sunday….(visitor NOT exhibitor)

    michelletripper(at)yahoo(dot)ca

  17. Stacey permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:57 am

    My bins look like yours lol. I’m collecting scraps for a couple of quilts I have planned – each requires different colorways (cools, warms). What’s better than taking a pile of scraps and creating something cohesive from them?!?!

  18. October 19, 2011 11:02 am

    I love scrap quilts, both of the quilts you pictured are beautiful. I have the same problem as you, I put the scraps into a basket, but haven’t got around to cutting them up to reusable pieces. I would love to win your scraps of solids though! Bernie at sewbernie.blogspot

  19. October 19, 2011 11:08 am

    I am using all my scraps to make hexies at the moment, it’s a lovely way of using up all your smaller pieces of fabrics. I am hooked!! Linda

  20. Amber permalink
    October 19, 2011 11:13 am

    I am new to quilting so I don’t have the stash yet… I am wanting to make a tree skirt!

  21. robin permalink
    October 19, 2011 11:41 am

    Honestly, I’m a newbie, so my scrap pile hasn’t grown big enough to actually do anything with yet. I’d love to win your scraps. :)

  22. October 19, 2011 12:01 pm

    Oooh, love those quilts! Thanks for the giveaway! Have great time in TO. :)

  23. Amy Cavanagh permalink
    October 19, 2011 12:17 pm

    Wow – I would love to win your scrappy bits! I make wonky stars (aka maverick stars) with my scraps and am in need of more scraps so I can continue making my 12″ blocks in order to make a fullsize quilt! Have a great show.

  24. Gill permalink
    October 19, 2011 12:35 pm

    I make hexagons from my scraps! and I saw a great quilt made from tiny scraps somewhere in bloggy land called a ‘lego’ quilt!

  25. October 19, 2011 12:39 pm

    I have made some pretty awesome scrap quilts, in fact, scrap quilts are my favorites. I LOVE scraps!!

  26. Lisa permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:06 pm

    I love to use my scraps to make blankets for my girls and their dolls. I would love to win some!

  27. Mary C permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:10 pm

    I have made scrappy quilts for baby gifts. I have another bin of strings that I want to make a string quilt from but haven’t started that project yet. I love to see the secondary patterns that sometimes emerge from my patterns.

  28. Sue Nelson permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:20 pm

    I love using scraps, have been using them for scrappy lattice, I spy and other patterns. It’s an excellent way to give back, donating them to Out of the Cold, Salvation Army and other charities that put our lovely quilts to good use. Hoping to add to my scrap stash by winning some of your lovely fabric. See you at the Creative Festival, always my favorite booth.

  29. Sandy Narayan permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:21 pm

    I have been teaching my 12 year old niece to sew and she loves to pick through my scraps to make things. I would love to win these to give her more selection.;-) Thanks for the opportunity!

  30. October 19, 2011 1:28 pm

    I love making scrappy quilts, but I don’t have a one as they all go to nursing homes, cancer patients, ill children and a abused women and children’s shelter. They need all the love they can get and I hope that when they get a quilt they feel the love I put into it just for them. ladycolmn(at)aol(dot)com

  31. Carol Moler permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:35 pm

    I like the photos of the Crosses quilts. Can you direct me to a pattern or some specific information about block size and assembling the quilt?
    Thanks,
    Carol

  32. Darlene permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:52 pm

    How much fun would it be to sew with those remnants? I love all little bits and would give them a great home! :)

  33. October 19, 2011 2:09 pm

    Who could give up a chance at adding some new and interesting pieces to their stash. Especially when that someone doesn’t have a very big stash at the moment. And what would I do with them all? I can start the list with some pouches, pincushions, mug rugs, place mats and pot holders. I’m sure I can come up with a few other ideas if put to the test.

    Have a great time at the Creativ Festival!

  34. October 19, 2011 2:14 pm

    That brick quilt is really cool!

    I’d use the scraps for a Kites in the Clouds quilt I’m dreaming of making. :D Thanks for the chance to win!

  35. Carol Moler permalink
    October 19, 2011 2:19 pm

    I would love to have the scraps to make more blocks for the Linus Connection in Central Texas. Several families lost homes in the fires there this summer and Jennifer of Sewhooked.com is collecting blocks to make quilts for kids affected by the tragedy. Thanks for your site. It’s inspiring!

  36. October 19, 2011 2:19 pm

    Lately I’ve become again enamoured with scrap quilting. I’ve always been a scrappy kind of gal, but then I got sidetracked into jelly rolls, layer cakes, etc. Now, thanks to Bonnie Hunter (http://quiltville.com) and her fabu scrap quilts, I’m back. Bonnie’s quilts have an old-fashioned look to them, and I’d like to make some of her quilt patterns with NEW scraps and NEW solids. I think they’d look fabulous!

  37. Amy B. permalink
    October 19, 2011 2:20 pm

    I’ve cut all my scraps up Bonnie Hunter style and am piecing them between other projects. Hopefully I’ll have a lovely scrap quilt one day! Have a great time at Creativ Festival!!

  38. October 19, 2011 2:33 pm

    I wish I could stop by at the Creativ Festival, but not this year, maybe next time. I make scrap quilts, tea cozies, baby quilts, zippy pouches, more scrap quilts….I love playing with scraps, especially other people’s scraps. thanks for the chance!

  39. Wendy permalink
    October 19, 2011 2:58 pm

    Beautiful quilts! I am just getting into quilting, so I don’t have many scraps yet, but these pics have inspired me!

  40. Paula permalink
    October 19, 2011 3:05 pm

    I put my scraps into the backing, what is left over I store for a scrappy quilt.

  41. Sandra permalink
    October 19, 2011 3:41 pm

    Dear Pam, my quilting mentor. I would use the ‘scraps’ to start on a log cabin quilt……all the best at the Creativ Festival.

  42. October 19, 2011 3:58 pm

    I use as many scraps as I can – usually I dump out my container and have a look through to see if there is anything I can use in the project I am starting. I also cut them up into squares and store the cut squares in their own containers. Have a great show!

  43. Barbara Mitchell permalink
    October 19, 2011 6:00 pm

    Hi Pam, I love this giveaway!! I have watched Charlene’s quilt grow over the summer and that pattern is on my list (I am already cutting scraps so that is project #1). I also use them to make preemie quilts and other charity quilts; place mats; scrappy nine patches, brick quilts (made a yellow and grey one this summer). I love to cut fabric so I always have baggies of scraps cut and ready to go!

  44. October 19, 2011 6:45 pm

    I do a lot of paper-piecing, so I use a lot of scraps for that. My goal, always, when I’m doing a paper-pieced block is to use scraps only for everything but the background. (Here’s something I made with scraps plus a bit of solid black.) I’m also planning to do a super scrappy string quilt to get through a little more of my scraps. (I’d like especially to finish off some of those fabrics that I don’t really like any more but can’t stand the thought of throwing away…)

  45. marie ireland permalink
    October 19, 2011 6:51 pm

    Make tons of scrap quilts…love em all because you never know how they will turn out until you’re finished. I also make pieced backings which is like two quilts in one. Would love to win these just in time for christmas charity quilts.

  46. October 19, 2011 6:55 pm

    I love (and use) all my scraps. I make baby shoes and other baby things with most of my scraps, but with a big haul I’d love to try my hand at a scrappy quilt. Your junk would be my treasure! Have fun at the show.

  47. Gail permalink
    October 19, 2011 7:08 pm

    I am making a quilt for my oldest son out of fabric from Malawi (I did a project there) for Christmas. The solids would help put it together. Christmas gifts for my 4 children will all be handmade this year. This will help me decide what pattern to use for him.
    Thanks for a terrific website
    Gail

  48. October 19, 2011 7:14 pm

    What beautiful quilts! Scraps, scraps, I just adore scraps. I use them in table runners, and quilts and totes, and potholders, and the list goes on and on. No one can ever have too many scraps. Even if you do have to dig for an hour to find that piece you threw into the tote 2 years ago that you know is in there somewhere!

  49. Mimi permalink
    October 19, 2011 7:21 pm

    Wow! Those quilts are beautiful! Throw my name in the hat for remnants – I love scraps and would make a lap quilt for someone special to snuggle beneath over the winter nights.

  50. Newbie Quilter permalink
    October 19, 2011 7:23 pm

    I love the colours of your quilts!! Gorgeous. Thanks for the chance to win some scraps, I think that I would make some table runners as gifts for my family.

  51. Dianne Giles permalink
    October 19, 2011 7:23 pm

    Beautiful quilts, especially “Another Brick in the Wall”! I think I would make a coin style quilt (never made one before), thanks for the chance, Dianne

  52. Linda permalink
    October 19, 2011 7:26 pm

    Both quilts are gorgeous and I am inspired to make a scrappy quilt . Spool blocks would lovely in different colours.

  53. Sherry Murray permalink
    October 19, 2011 8:08 pm

    I’ve stripped down my stash to include only Kaffe’s and Halloween. Would love to start a new heap for a string quilt.

  54. Johanna Blakney permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:10 pm

    I always love a chance to get new scraps. Last year I used up a lot of Christmas scraps to make two small yo-yo Xmas tree wallhangings. I used those neat yo-yo makers from Clover – they are wonderful tools. So now I am hooked on making yo-yo’s because I can make them while watching all my taped TV shows at the same time! I have two new patterns for making yo-yo quilts – pretty simple, but a lot of yo-yo’s required. The patterns call for far more than just sewing yo-yo’s together – the yo-yo’s are more like an applique on the quilt. I would love to use a different fabric for each yo-yo – I find it inspirational to use scraps from someone else’s stash. It adds a “story” to my quilt. Johanna

  55. bess permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:20 pm

    i use scraps for pot holders, or patchwork zippered pouches. great giveaway!

  56. October 19, 2011 10:33 pm

    I would make a donation quilt for a local charity if I won the scraps. I already donated two this summer made from my scraps. Thanks for the chance to win.

  57. October 19, 2011 11:08 pm

    I really want to make a string quilt with some of my scraps. Also some improv piecing with specific colourways.

  58. Morgan permalink
    October 19, 2011 11:17 pm

    What a cool giveaway! So far, my scraps are just sitting in a bag, waiting for me to use them. I have nowhere near as many as you, though!
    Thanks!

  59. October 19, 2011 11:40 pm

    love these ideas! with my scraps i like to make banners, buntings, and sew different shape garlands.x

  60. Pat V. permalink
    October 20, 2011 1:47 am

    I like to use my scraps to make charity quilts. Our guild has three worthy projects. Just now I’m finishing one made from echo log cabin blocks for a child at our local homeless shelter.

  61. Cyn permalink
    October 20, 2011 10:53 am

    Hi Pam, Great giveaway! Please put my name in the hat to win….I would be happy to take one of those bins off your hands! I would love to make one of those spiderweb quilts, seen all over blogland! Your modern scraps would be perfect for that. Enjoy Toronto!

  62. Theresa permalink
    October 20, 2011 11:31 am

    I use my scraps for inprov piecing and for just the right color for an applique.

  63. sonia stanojevic permalink
    October 20, 2011 3:01 pm

    Hi Pam I’m really looking forward to your booth at CF. I’ve had a strange urge to organize scraps lately! I’ve found cutting them into 2.5 inch strips or 5 inch squares is very therapeutic. I just like looking at all those neat little piles.

  64. October 20, 2011 3:20 pm

    I’m a scrappy type. Eclectic all the way. Nothing too matchy matchy. These scraps would be most welcome! And what would I make? Hmmm … depends on the size of the scraps really but I have been eyeing up that greek crosses pattern. I also want to make a crazy quilt and a whole lot of half square triangles, neither of which I’ve ever done before because I’m a newish wannabe quilter.

  65. Anne Simonot permalink
    October 20, 2011 5:02 pm

    Only quilters get so excited at the thought of inheriting someone else’s leftovers! And I’m one of them… I love scrap quilts, any design, just the more fabrics in there the better. I lean to a controlled scrappy look. Thanks for the chance to win free leftover fabric.

  66. October 20, 2011 5:25 pm

    I love playing with scraps! Sampler quilts are my favorite and are so perfect for scraps! I also would love to make a string quilt one day. Or just play. Improv piecing, experimenting with colors, making new blocks. Ahh…the joys of quilting! Have a fabulous time at the Festival, it sounds like fun!

  67. October 21, 2011 12:16 am

    love scrap quilts and would love to win some of your scraps. I follow Bonnie Hunter at quiltville for inspiration. I’m mostly dreaming of scrap quilts at this point but always on the look out for patterns that are scrap friendly.

  68. Jane Artman permalink
    October 21, 2011 9:27 am

    I mostly use my scraps to let my 4 year old twins dig into them, let them pick some pieces and tell me what to do with them. It’s so incredibly interesting to see how creative such small boys can be!
    They ask for pillows or even for complete quilts (!) and I let them do the rough layout with the scraps… it works!

  69. Barb B permalink
    October 21, 2011 11:31 am

    I am just starting to use up my scraps – baby quilt, I spy and a string quilt all in progress. It does seem though that even using scraps, there are scraps going back into the basket. Never ending. Thanks for a chance to add to the basket.

  70. October 21, 2011 5:12 pm

    Have fun at the Creative Festival! Too bad the weather is so rotten in SW Ontario :(
    I have never sewn a single thing using solids in all my years of quilting! I must give it a try!
    I would use up the fabric in mini quilts…my favorite thing to sew!

  71. October 21, 2011 7:05 pm

    I would love to play with your scraps! I make quilts for cancer patients at our local hospital and would use the scraps for that project. Hope you are having fun in Toronto!

  72. Alice Keenan permalink
    October 21, 2011 7:29 pm

    Stopped by your booth today at the show….love the fabrics you carry. I would like to win the prints because they are so different from anything I have in my stash and make a scrappy quilt.

  73. Pam L. from London permalink
    October 21, 2011 8:41 pm

    Hi Pam, Great to see you again at the CreativFestival today. Looked to me like you are going to have a very successful show. I’m just getting into using solids, so I’d do something like your crosses or diamonds pattern, or maybe something from City Quilts. If the prints, they’d go into a scrappy Chopsticks, using my new Exeter Linen as background. (thanks again for getting it for me). Pam L.

  74. October 22, 2011 2:06 am

    I like to make mug rugs with my scraps! I shopped at your booth today at the Creativ Festival and loved it!

  75. October 22, 2011 5:22 pm

    Great way to use up scraps! Both of the quilts are wonderful. Thanks for the chance to win.

  76. Kate permalink
    October 22, 2011 6:14 pm

    I would like to do some crazy patch. Some of those Konas would fit right in.

  77. Jacqui VMS permalink
    October 22, 2011 9:06 pm

    I would LOVE to win some of your scraps! I’ve bought a lot of scraps at shows from your scrap bin over the years….the first batch I bought went into my Menopause quilt :-). Several solids were used in tote bag accents and other scrappy quilts. Have fun at Creativ Festival! I’m missing it this year :-(. But, I’m looking forward to taking your workshop in November!!!

  78. Liz permalink
    October 22, 2011 9:17 pm

    I am motivated to use my scraps because my scrap drawer is overflowing! Just yesterday I cut some batik scraps to make a table runner from the Color Block Placemats and Napkins by Elizbeth Hartman on sewmamasew.com/blog2, joining two placemats together. I would love to add your scraps to mine and make a scrap quilt. The brick quilt you posted is inspiring me to make one with my scraps…

  79. deb permalink
    October 23, 2011 5:50 pm

    I still haven’t collected enough scraps to do anything with but i’m working on getting enough coordinating scraps to make a pinwheel wall hanging. Also, i have been practicing on paper piecing which doesn’t always go so well which means lots of waste. :(

  80. October 24, 2011 12:08 pm

    I just recently started to organize my scraps and, I have to say, it really helps me make better use of leftovers. I’ve also enrolled in a scrapbusting class, which starts tomorrow, so more scraps would be great! Thanks for hte giveaway!

  81. MarciaW permalink
    October 24, 2011 11:46 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway. I have few scraps and enjoy making scrappy quilts. My mother will thank you as I usually raid her scraps. I’ve wanted to make a plus / cross quilt for some time – maybe the Schnibbles version. Solids or prints would work great for this. Anything left will go into my “squares” quilt. Variety of fabrics is something I love to work into my quilts. Thanks again.

  82. Maggie permalink
    October 25, 2011 8:42 am

    scraps? they are like stain-glass, creating new masterpieces with the bits that no one wants… The Kona Bay solids would be perfect to make a bed (large pillow) for a prince or a princess that live at the humane society, awaiting a new forever family. They deserve some TLC, otherwise they would still be living with the ones that they love. I would use the scraps, with the aid of the magic tool to make a jewel tone bed, to put a smile and a bounce back in their step. Everyone needs to be loved for just being themselves.
    *********************************************************************************************************The printed scraps, would be used to create a quilt using squares and rectangles. This will be sewn together then cut in a unique way that create a block with three triangles and a square, without piecing any triangles. It will be given to a modern twist with the mix of scraps. Once done, quilted, it will be donated to the shelter for women and children. As very many times they leave their homes with just the shirt on their backs. Quilts can provide warmth, but they can also hug with love and tell the person. You are worthy, don’t ever give up!
    Scraps can be inspiring, they can be used to create new dimensions in life and in art.

  83. Bonnie permalink
    October 25, 2011 7:27 pm

    I have been making scrappy 9 patches so more variety would be great. Thanks for the giveaway.

  84. Kate permalink
    October 25, 2011 8:42 pm

    I’ve only made one quilt so far so my scrap bucket is still relatively small! I sure am inspired looking at these wonderful quilts!

Comments are closed.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
