Skip to content

Toronto Tote

October 15, 2011

Finished just in time for Toronto … it’s the Cinch-It Tote Bag from All People Quilt. You can download the free instructions here. I used some Gypsy Bandana from Pillow & Maxfield for my bag. It’s a nice, roomy tote (about 21″ x 17″ with a 4″ box bottom) with pull up straps. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. It’s got 1 layer of thin cotton batting to give it a bit of structure, and is fully lined with an interior pocket. The only thing I changed was the binding along the top edge. My lining was about 1″ longer than the finished bag, so I just turned that under ½” twice to make the binding. Then I used one of the decorative stitches on my machine (first time!) to sew down the binding on the front. I could have done a simple top-stitch, but wanted to try something different. I broke a needle (used the wrong foot), had to undo a bit of stitching that was too bulky over the side seam, and had a spot of trouble keeping a straight line, but I learned something new and am totally pleased with the end result!

If I made it again I would make the handles a bit sturdier – (use 4″ strips, fold in half, pressed and opened out, sides folded and pressed to the middle, then folded in half again.) I’ll have kits for this at Creativ Festival next week, and if there are any left, I’ll put them up on the site when I’m back.

Just a reminder for shoppers – Monday the 17th is the last day for online orders to be shipped before I leave for Toronto. After that, shipping will be delayed a week until October 25th. Monday is also the last day to pre-order if you want me to bring your order to Toronto for pick up at the show (use the promotional code CREATIV when you check out.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 1:05 pm

    Love this bag! I’ll be adding that one to my growing list of sewing projects.

  2. Cyn permalink
    October 18, 2011 9:46 am

    Nice! The fabric choice suits the style perfectly! I like how you made the top binding…good tip for when you have to whip up a last minute gift. Have fun in Toronto!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
