Skip to content

Finishing

October 11, 2011

It’s sometimes months after I’ve pieced a top that the quilt is actually finished. I first blogged about this top back in June. My preference is to send most of my quilts out to be quilted on a long-arm machine. This one went to Mari Lyn Jarzyna of the Bytowne Quilter (right here in Stittsvillle). I asked for random straight lines across the top, and she suggested a not-quite-black Aurifil thread. The result was just what I was looking for on this particular quilt top. You can still find the black and white fabrics I used in the shop.

Once it’s back from the quilter I need to add the binding. In this case I had a difficult time choosing a color. I knew I wanted a pop of color on the edge, but couldn’t decide what would look best. I auditioned some Kona solids (from left) – Bright Pink, Papaya, Tangerine, Sour, Pomegranate and Chartreuse. I even called in a color consultant (I often ask my girls what colors they like). Anna suggested Papaya, and she almost had me convinced, but in the end it conjured up images of a bumble bee. Likewise Tangerine was eliminated because the orange-black combo was a bit too much like Halloween. Pomegranate and Chartreuse were not quite bright enough for me. In the end I chose Sour, although the Bright Pink was a close second.

And that’s it. Quilted and bound, and ready to use!

Linking up to TGIFF.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 5:44 pm

    This is beautiful and I think the binding you picked was perfect!

  2. October 11, 2011 5:58 pm

    Very nice – I like the pop of colour around the border.

  3. October 11, 2011 6:59 pm

    lovely. what a great finish!

  4. Ginette permalink
    October 11, 2011 8:59 pm

    My grandmother made me a black and white rail fence when I was a teenager. Your quilt reminds me of the one I have. It looks beautiful and I love the pop of color in the binding!

  5. kate permalink
    October 11, 2011 10:55 pm

    Is this “Skittles” or “Off the Rails?”
    Kate

  6. October 12, 2011 11:52 am

    I’ve never been tempted to do a black and white quilt until now. I love the design and fabrics you chose. Great finish! I’m hosting TGIFF! this Friday and I’d love it if you’d link this up. My blog is http://www.quiltmatters.blogspot.com. Cheers from a fellow Otttawan. :)

  7. October 14, 2011 2:02 pm

    Thanks for linking up at TGIFF! Pam. I’m definitely adding a black and white quilt to my bucket list. I just love what you did with this one. So fun!

  8. October 14, 2011 7:05 pm

    Love the unexpected pop of colour on the binding!

  9. October 14, 2011 9:11 pm

    Looks wonderful. I definitively agree the pop of color makes the quilt.

  10. Connie permalink
    October 14, 2011 9:31 pm

    It’s beautiful.

  11. October 15, 2011 3:34 pm

    Very nice~

  12. October 15, 2011 6:39 pm

    It looks wonderful! The binding looks great!

  13. October 16, 2011 1:36 pm

    Awesome! That is one striking quilt! :)

  14. October 17, 2011 6:17 pm

    i agree, the binding is perfect! congrats on a BEAUTIFUL finish!

    thanks for linking up to finish it up Friday! :)

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 945 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
