Skip to content

Summer Sew Along Week 5 1/2

September 26, 2011

Summer’s over (at least by the calendar) so it’s time to wrap up this sew along. I have 2 more projects to share, so am posting one today and one later in the week.

I hope you saved your selvedges as I mentioned back in Week 1. I thought they would make cute mug rugs, and I was able to make 2 from just 9 selvedges from my half yard cuts.

Start with a fabric rectangle about 9″ x 12″, and a similar sized piece of cotton batting (if you use insul-bright you could also use the mug rug as a hot pad for the table.)  I had enough of Over The River hats to use as my backing; you can use whatever you have left. Lay out the backing fabric right side down, with the batting on top. Use a 2″ x 9″ strip of fabric from any of your remnants for the first strip, and lay it on top of your sandwich, right side up.

Cut all your 18″ selvedge pieces in half, to make 9″ strips. Take 1 selvedge strip, and overlap about ¼” on the left edge of the starting strip. Now stitch close to the edge along the selvedge. You will be sewing through 4 layers – backing, batting, and the 2 overlapped strips. It should look like this when you’re done:

Continue adding selvedges to the left edge in the same way until you have covered the batting. You should have a quilted sandwich that looks something like this:

Trim the quilted sandwich to the desired size – mine are about 7.5″ x 10″. You will need 2 – 2″ binding strips to finish the edge of the rug with a regular double fold binding.

After my Sunday afternoon chat with my mother, I realized that not everyone saved their selvedges. Not to worry. You can still make a mug rug, but you’ll have to piece together enough remnants to make a 9″ x 12″ top, and then quilt your layers together before binding.

These were so quick and easy to make, and I love the way the selvedges look on the front. I’m thinking of making a stack of these as Christmas gifts for friends and family, packaged up with a mug, coffee, tea or hot chocolate and some homemade cookies. (These would make great teacher gifts too, and is an easy sewing project for your child to try.)

Don’t forget to post photos in the flickr group! I know some of you are following along, and I would love to see what you’ve been doing. I’ll finish up with a final project later this week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
