Skip to content

Summer Sew Along Week 4

September 14, 2011

This week’s project is a gift bag. I found the pattern on AllPeopleQuilt, which is a terrific source for free patterns and lots of other fun stuff. You can find the pattern for the bag here. I followed the instructions as given, except I used a medium weight fusible interfacing (the instructions call for heavyweight non-fusible) mostly because it’s what I had in the house and didn’t feel like running out to get something else!

I used this red greetings print for the bag body. The lined bag is perfect for a small gift (about 6″ x 8″ with 2″ depth). You could easily adjust the measurements to make your bag smaller or bigger if you wanted to.

There are still two more weeks to go in my summer sew along, although summer will end before the projects do. I’m heading out to enjoy what’s left of the beautiful weather while it lasts!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    September 14, 2011 3:47 pm

    I have 2 questions about this project:
    1. Did you use the same fabric to line the bag as you used on the outside? and
    2. What is the heaveyweight cardboard 2-3/4 x 5-3/4 used for?
    In the instructions, I didn’t see where it was used.
    Also, just finished the tablerunner and it’s going to look wonderful on my table this season.

    • September 14, 2011 4:14 pm

      I used the polka dot fabric that you see on the handles for the lining too. You can put the cardboard in the bottom of the bag to give it a bit more structure if you like (I didn’t bother).

  2. September 21, 2011 12:48 am

    So pleased I found your blog…enjoyed reading through past posts…Warm wishes from south africa

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
