Skip to content

Summer Sew Along – Week 1

August 24, 2011

Before we get going on this week’s project, a word about pre-washing fabric. I often get asked about pre-washing, and my answer depends on the situation. Last week I mentioned I’d be pre-washing my fabric for the sew-along, which I do to pre-shink the fabric. That way the finished projects will have minimal shrinkage after they are washed and dried. For quilts I rarely pre-wash. The fabric and batting are both going to shrink and give the quilts a lovely crinkly look. (If you don’t like the crinkly look, you should be pre-washing your fabric and batting too.) I’ve never had a problem with colors running, but if you worry about such things you’d probably want to pre-wash your quilting fabrics.

The first thing you need to do is to cut 1″ – 2″ off all the selvedges and set them aside for a later project. You should end up with something like this:

The first project in the sew along is a reversible half apron using a tutorial from Crystal at My Longest Year. I chose to add the optional ruffle at the bottom.


You can see that I’m using the Over The River bundle, and chose 3 prints for the apron – Trees, Holly and Stripe. The directions are clear, but don’t forget to finish the raw edges of the ruffle and the apron strings (I turned under 1/4″ and hemmed). Anna’s modelling the finished apron, and at 5’6″ tall it’s a good length on her. You have enough fabric to adjust the length a bit – a little longer or shorter as needed. You might consider making your ties a bit longer than the suggested 55″ – I’d probably add another 5″ if making it again. Also, the tutorial doesn’t specify how much to gather the waistband – I gathered mine to 16″.

Please remember to keep all your scraps when you’re finished cutting – they may come in handy later on. Have fun with this week’s project, and I’ll be back next Wednesday with the second project in the sew along. And if you’re looking for fabric, there are still a few bundles left at 20% off until the end of August.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Barb b permalink
    August 31, 2011 11:40 am

    Nearly finished my apron!! Only to see that week 2 is posted already. I will keep up some how. I love this idea of having ready made gifts or something new for me.
    Thanks for your great inspiration.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
