Skip to content

Crosses quilt

July 18, 2011

Remember the 2.5″ squares I cut from last week’s pile of scraps? Here’s the final result:

I was inspired by Kaffe Fassett’s Crosses Quilt from Quilt Road (2005). You can see a slideshow of quilts (including the Crosses quilt) from the book on Kaffe’s site. I used 414 squares, arranged 18 across in 23 rows. Once I had the squares arranged to my liking on the design wall, I transferred 1 row at a time to machine for stitching, and then added the finished row to the quilt top. This helped me keep everything straight, and any errors were immediately obvious.  I added a rich brown border in keeping with the inspiration quilt. (I cut the borders lengthwise so that I didn’t need to piece them – it takes a bit more fabric to do this, but the extra makes great binding strips). This pattern would be perfect for using up your scraps – you need only 5 – 2.5″ squares of each print to make a cross. And the size could easily be scaled to accommodate all your scraps. It’s also a jelly roll friendly pattern – just cut the strips into squares (you’ll get 16 or 17 squares from a strip) and start arranging.

So my two fat quarter bundles (all 22 prints from Innocent Crush) has given me two lovely quilt tops, and still a few scraps leftover. They’re off to Joan Read for some longarm quilting to finish them off. I can hardly wait!

Remember, you can save 25% on Anna Marie Horner’s Innocent Crush until the end of the month. I’ve got charms, rolls, bundles and yardage in the shop.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
