Skip to content

XOXO Ready to Quilt

June 27, 2011

Remember Amy’s One Week, One Challenge link up from last week? I was able to meet my challenge, which was piecing the Hugs and Kisses quilt top:

The pattern is from Jaybird Quilts, and fabric is the fun and colorful Bubble Trouble from Studio E (yellow colorway). I chose Kona Espresso to contrast with the prints, and used the suggested Lazy Angle ruler to cut my pieces, but you can also make your own templates from the pattern. I don’t own any specialty rulers, so working with this was a first for me. It was easy to use (follow the directions carefully) and I didn’t make any miscuts, but you might want to try it with your scraps first. Or if you want a demo, check out this youtube link.

This one’s going to Karen Cole in London for long-arm quilting. I met Karen at the CQA show last month in London as the cheerful and seemingly tireless volunteer coordinator of the merchant mall. My mom takes her quilt tops to Karen for long-arm quilting, and she always does a wonderful job. While in London, Karen and I agreed that we would make the same pattern (hers traditional, mine modern) to see how they look. So it’s off to London with my mom (who’s visiting for Emily’s high school graduation later this week!) 

I’ve kitted this one, with the pattern and die-cut 2.5″ strips and everything else to make the quilt top and binding  (I’ll be adding a teal color option shortly.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 3:39 pm

    I love the colours! Bright and fun. Beautiful!

  2. June 27, 2011 3:58 pm

    Great finish! The prints look fun too!

  3. June 27, 2011 5:03 pm

    I love the colours you chose. I just finished my Unwind quilt top by Jaybird Quilts.

  4. June 27, 2011 5:40 pm

    Great quilt top – and congrats on meeting the challenge!

  5. June 28, 2011 9:08 am

    It looks fantastic!! I love it! :-)

  6. June 28, 2011 11:50 am

    It turned out great! Congrats on meeting your goal :)

  7. Karen Cole permalink
    June 30, 2011 9:31 am

    Good job Pam. I luv your colours. They are very fun and happy. I am already thinking of quilting designs.

    Karen Cole, Quiltingleah

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 945 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
