Skip to content

Through the trees

June 24, 2011

I stumbled across this tutorial last week and thought it would be fun in a mix of black and whites. Kate Conklin’s stack and slash technique was quick and easy, so I was able to piece this top in just a few hours:

 

I used 8 different white on black prints (fat quarters) and four different black on white prints (half yards, cut into fat quarters) to make this 66″ square quilt. Another 8 fat quarters could easily turn it into a twin size. Lots of quilters I’ve met collect black & white prints for their stash, but if you’re looking for more you can find them here. I might have added in some solid black and white to calm it down, but I love how it turned out. I’m considering the backing and quilting options while I work on my One week, One challenge project.

In addition to the free tutorial, Kate has a nice selection of PDF patterns for sale, and they all employ the same stack and slash technique as the tutorial. Fussy Fairytales and Wonky Donkey are two I’d like to try … they’ve been bookmarked for future consideration.

And finally, we may have some relief on the postal strike by the end of the weekend (fingers crossed). Thanks to everyone who is waiting patiently for their orders … I will ship them off just as soon as the post office is open for business.

One Week, One Challenge

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 10:43 am

    Oh I love this! It’s so eye catching :-)

  2. Sandra permalink
    June 24, 2011 7:02 pm

    Gotta love that basic black!

  3. June 25, 2011 10:00 am

    Wow! You’re fast. It looks great. I’m interested to see how you quilt this. I’m not sure how to quilt mine yet.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
