Skip to content

This and that

May 10, 2011

It was a fun and relaxing weekend at our place, which means I took some time off from show preparations and sewing. I did manage to finish two labels. I appreciated the comments you left last week about your own labels. I decided to use fabric sheets that you can feed through the inkjet, and designed the labels in Word. I added a 1″ fabric border to match the quilt, and then followed Krista’s instructions over at Poppyprint to create a fusible quilt label.

 

The first label was personalized for the recipient, while the second is just a stock label. While I was browsing for quilt label ideas, I came across a great suggestion from Julie at Jaybird Quilts. She designed her labels and then had them printed on fabric at Spoonflower. I think I’ll have to try it.

Here’s a quilt I made last year, and had quilted this past winter. It’s a very simple coin quilt that really shows off the beautiful color palette. The fabric is Mckenzie from Dena Designs mixed with solids. It’s now available as a kit in the shop.

I was able to get to the OVQG quilt show with my mom on Sunday. I didn’t take my camera, so no pics to share. We were there late enough that the ribbons had been awarded, and it was fun to see which quilts were judged the best. I am always awed by the beautiful applique (Joan Dorsay’s Baltimore Album was exceptional) and precise piecing that some quilters are able to achieve. The note on one quilt indicated the quiltmaker had used over 5000 pieces – impressive, but not happening here anytime soon! You can follow the link to see the list of quilts and winners. As much as I enjoyed the viewing, it was disappointing that there were no modern quilts on display. Makes me wonder if there isn’t room for one more guild in the Ottawa area.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy Gaudet permalink
    May 11, 2011 5:40 pm

    Hi Pam – I thought I detected one or two that might be considered modern. there was one with a lot of solid white and bright large and smaller blocks. It was made by an internet group. The other one escapes me. I was sorry your shop wasn’t there.

    Cathy

  2. May 23, 2011 9:39 pm

    Oh! I’m so glad that Sew Mama Sew brought me to you! I’ve been agonizing over how to make a label for the quilt I’m making for my sister (for her wedding!). Thanks for this post :)

  3. Liz Kroon permalink
    May 25, 2011 7:48 pm

    I have gotten into quilting again after many years . I go to Florida in the winter and there at our park a lady asked if any of us were interested in quilting…we all said yes! So now I’m browsing on the internet to learning and find new material, patterns, and anything else that might help me with my quilting projects…I found your site by accident and enjoy it very much. I especially liked the idea of making a personalized fusible qult label…..Thank you very much for that very simple idea and also liked your selections of material…..Will certainly revisit your site again when I’m ready to start another project…..Liz

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 945 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
