Skip to content

No time to sew

May 3, 2011

Just 3 weeks to go until the big show in London, which means a to-do list that is keeping me busy even on the weekends. Not much time for new projects. I thought I’d tell you a bit about my (usually) hardworking sewing machine, shown above. I’ve had my Janome 6260 for about 3 years. It replaced a basic Singer that I’d had for close to 20 years. The Janome came with all the attachments I needed for quilting – the 1/4″ foot, the walking foot, and the foot for free motion quilting. It’s got a needle up/down button, an auto-lock stitch, and a thread cutter that I use all the time. It also has speed control lever which comes in handy when Anna is using the machine – I slow it down so that she gets better control as she learns. It came with a button hole attachment (used twice) and a whole bunch of specialty stitches (never used!) I’ve been very happy with my machine, it meets all my needs (and more) and I expect to use it for years to come.  

The quilt folded in front came back from Joan’s last week, and you can see a bit of her lovely quilting. I finished the binding last night (good) as I watched the election results (not so good). And now it needs a label. I’m somewhat embarrased to confess that I have never labelled a quilt that I’ve made. One of those things I know I should do, but don’t care enough to actually get around to. This time is different though. It’s been made as a gift, and I’ve been asked to provide a label. I’ve come across a few different methods in the past, and will be tackling it this week. I’d love to hear your own tips and techniques for making labels. Or you can come clean and admit that you don’t label your quilts either!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 11:13 am

    I love your Janome. I bought a Juki F600 not long ago and love it as well, all the same features. Do you do your own stippling? On the Janome?

    Good luck at the London show, it’s a little far for me to travel, sadly.

    I too am bummed about the elections!!

    • May 3, 2011 11:15 am

      I have not attempted stippling (yet). I took a class years ago, and did try a little quilt on my old machine. I need get my nerve up and try again.

      • May 3, 2011 11:17 am

        Who finishes your quilts?

      • May 3, 2011 11:44 am

        Joan Read in Almonte does the machine quilting. She has a computerized Gammill long arm, and does all-over as well as custom quilting.

  2. May 3, 2011 12:45 pm

    I label all my quilts that I have given away. I have a few here at home that aren’t labelled but if they ever leave this house, they will be. This is my favourite label making method. First I open Word on the computer and write out what I want the label to say. I center it and then start playing around with the different fonts and sizes. I usually use a font that is easy to trace over. Once I have all this configured I print out a sample. If I’m happy with it, I take it over to the light box. I press a sheet of freezer paper on to the back of the fabric I wish to use for my label. I place this over the sheet that I printed out and I tape it all down so there’s no moving things. Then I trace over the lettering with a Pigma pen in my colour choice. After this is done I press it with a dry iron to set the ink. Then I cut out the label to the size I want and I also cut a piece pf DoSew the same size. I sew the label and the Do-Sew right sides together, 1/4 ” from the edges all the way around. I put a little snip in the Do-Sew and turn the label right side out. I press this nice and flat and then hand stitch it to the back of the quilt. It sounds like a lot of steps but it’s really quick and easy. I used to just print it on to some printer fabric but I’ve found that the printer ink tends to run. I think it adds a little more of a hand touch when you trace over the letters.

  3. Katie permalink
    May 3, 2011 1:12 pm

    Same boat. Not a one to label my quilts either though I’m interested to start doing that. I’ve seen some great how-to posts on making easy labels. Thanks for the review on the Janome machine. I’m using my 20+ year old Kenmore and though it’s great for simple sewing, I do want to try to quilt on a machine made for it so I’ve been researching and gearing up for a new machine purchase in the future. I appreciate your views and comments on the features.

  4. May 3, 2011 6:30 pm

    I’ve never labelled any of my quilts. I don’t know why, but I don’t want to. I feel like it would ruin it somehow.

    (I’m kind of depressed about the election. I live in Alberta, so I know what to expect to have happen here, but… ugh.)

    I need to buy a new… no, wait. I *want* to buy a new sewing machine, but I want something that’s built a bit more for quilting than what I’ve got (a cheap Kenmore ~ 10 years old). Hard to make a decision though.

  5. Sue Nelson permalink
    May 3, 2011 11:45 pm

    I have the exact same sewing machine and love it. Mine is about 6 yrs old and works like a gem. Perfect for quilting. I do labels for all quilts – I have done them with fabric labels written with fine permanent pen for fabric (which you dry iron to set), I have cross-stitched some labels (very time consuming), I have used fabric paper with in jet printer to print out special sayings etc. I usually attached binding around labels before sewing down (easier to work with)
    Happy quilting.

  6. Ginette permalink
    May 5, 2011 9:00 am

    I used to simply write out my labels with permanent fabric pens on a piece of fabric matching the front of the quilt. Now I have started my own little business of making labels for others on my embroidery machine. For a fair price, you can get a lovely custom embroidered label for your quilt. The nice part is that it won’t fade and will be with the quilt for a long time. I have also seen someone who embroidered the details of her label onto the binding of her quilt before sewing it on the quilt… quite intersting and doesn’t take away from the look of the quilt. If you are interested in pricing of a custom made label, I do live in the Ottawa area, send me an e-mail!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
