Skip to content

The Skinny and The Not-So-Skinny

March 29, 2011

I have quite a few leftover strips from the Botany jelly roll I used to make this quilt. Last year I found a tutorial for the Skinny Verna table runner in the Moda Bakeshop (from Vicki at SpunSugarQuilts). I used 5 strips cut in half to make this version:

It measures about 8.5″ x 26.5″, and is seriously cute. I have enough of the strips left over to make another, or a set of mug rugs to go with. And since I was in the mood, I made another “not-so-skinny” Verna:

I was playing with the shot cottons for another project, and decided to turn them into a quick little table runner. I knew the Teja print was the perfect edging for this one, but it had to be a bit wider than the original to show off the beautiful design. I cut 4.5″ strips for the edges and the finished runner is a little bigger at 12″ x 28.5″.

I think these little runners will make lovely hostess gifts throughout the year – more to come!

Thanks to all who made purchases last week … I have donated 10% of sales to the Canadian Red Cross for Japan Disaster Relief.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 7:27 pm

    Love them both, but especially the top one witht the white border!

  2. June 1, 2011 3:07 pm

    Awesome!!! :)

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
