Skip to content

Posh Tot … finished at last!

March 9, 2011
tags:

I had the pleasure of taking a road trip with Emily this weekend. She’s in her final year of high school, and in the process of figuring out what to do next fall. One option she’s considering is a program in Illustration from Sheridan College in Oakville, and so we hit the road on Friday afternoon for a porfolio assessment on Saturday morning. It’s not very often the two of us spend so much time alone together and it was a lot of fun.

I blogged in June when I finished the top, and again in October when I first started the machine quilting. And now it’s March and my Posh Tot quilt is finally finished. I had completed the quilting in October, but was unhappy with the way it looked (evenly spaced horizontal lines), and so I unstitched it all last week. Just 6 rows a day I told myself, and I was able to get through it all before the end of the week. It’s been restitched (outline stitching in the squares and vertical stitching in the solid areas) and I’m so much happier with the result.

Our quilt along group met on Friday to add the binding to our quilts. Mine’s not quite done, so I’ll save that for next week.

Yesterday was my first time at the Common Threads Quilt Guild as Shop Of The Month. I enjoyed getting out and talking with the guild members. The speaker entertained us with a brief history of the quilting bee from their early beginnings right up to current times. Apparently there are still groups in Ottawa who meet on a regular basis to hand quilt in the time-honored tradition of the quilting bee. Two that she mentioned were All Saints Westboro Anglican Church and the Osgoode Quilters.  I’ll be back next month as the speaker, and will talk about new directions in quilting.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristel permalink
    March 13, 2011 9:34 pm

    I finished my Posh Tot quilt from this kit in January. (Photos here.) It got lots of compliments for the fabrics and colours, so thanks for making me look good ;D

    I quilted mine with straight lines about an inch apart on either side of the boxes, which I did in a kind of labyrinth. (I couldn’t seem to get a good shot of that when I was taking pictures though.)

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
