Skip to content

Project updates

March 1, 2011

 

After much procrastination I was finally able to put together some mug rugs for a (very) belated birthday gift. Everything came from my scrap bin – the center came from a larger piece leftover from another project. I was able to cut 4 rectangles about 5″ x 8″ from that piece, so will have 4 mug rugs when I’m finished. Now to find some fun mugs to go with.



I also finished the binding on my Land & Sea quilt started November last year (front, back, binding from top to bottom). The machine quilting was done by Joan Read.

This was made with Holly Holderman’s Fun Flowers and Robert Kaufman’s premium bleached white muslin for all that sashing. The backing is pieced from leftovers and more muslin. I needed ½ yard cuts of all the prints plus lots of muslin to make a quilt big enough for a twin bed (about 64″ x 86″).

If you want a pint-sized version of this quilt, Alissa also has a tutorial for the Sparks Baby quilt posted here.

And finally, I’m keeping up with the CHQ quilt along. Our group will meet one more time on Friday to finish our quilts.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    March 1, 2011 9:43 am

    So many projects…so little time. Love the mug rugs; good idea for a bazaar. Your new web site is wonderful – easy to navigate.

  2. Cyn permalink
    March 1, 2011 5:37 pm

    I’m seeing mug rugs all over blogland! Yours is so cute and a great gift idea. I need to make a few! I like the changes on your website and I see you now accept paypal – great!

  3. March 1, 2011 9:05 pm

    I really like the land and sea one. Beautiful :)

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
