Skip to content

Getting organized for a quilt along

January 30, 2011

I’ve had a few people express some interest in getting together for the Cherry House Quilts quilt along here in Ottawa. In case you’re interested, here are a few more details.

We will meet at my home in Stittsville once a week for about 1 ½ – 2 hours. In 5 weeks we will finish a small quilt – for a baby or as a wallhanging. Here’s the schedule that we’ll be following from Cherri’s blog:

2/1/11 CUTTING INSTRUCTIONS

2/8/11 PIECED COLUMNS

2/15/11 ASSEMBLE QUILT TOP

2/22/11 QUILT THE TOP

3/1/11 FINISH THE QUILT
 
You will need a sewing machine (nothing fancy, it’s all straight stitch sewing), fabric and thread. You can use your own fabric (100% cotton is recommended), or I have kits available in the 4 different color options at a cost of $14+ HST (includes 2 yards of fabric for the front, you will need another yard for the back.) I have batting remnants that I’m willing to donate to the cause. Also, I have rotary cutters, acrylic rulers and self-healing mats to use so you don’t have to buy those if you don’t already own them.

I’m organizing a daytime group for either Thursday or Friday. If you’ve never quilted before, it’s a great chance to try it. And if you have quilted before then you know it’s sure to be a lot of fun.

Send me an email at pam (at) madaboutpatchwork (dot) com if you’re interested in joining the group.

One Comment leave one →
  1. shelley mcgoldrick permalink
    January 31, 2011 9:03 pm

    I just received my kit today and I absolutely love the colours. I can’t wait to get started.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 945 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
