Skip to content

Lil’ Twister Pinwheel Tool

January 25, 2011

I love pinwheel quilts – they always look playful. Here’s one from last year (done with half square triangles):

I recently came across a nifty tool for those who like pinwheels, but not half square triangles. It’s called Lil’ Twister, from CS Designs – and looks like this:

The tool lets you make pinwheels from 5″ squares (grab those charm packs!) sewn together in a grid with a 3″ border – like this:

(I used Summer Soiree by Paula Prass for Michael Miller). Then use the Lil’ Twister tool to cut it up – like this:

Then sew it all back together:

This table topper was made with 24 5″ squares, 3 3″ strips of border fabric, and 3 2¼” binding strips. It measures about 15″ x 21″, and took about 3 hours to make (including the quilting & binding). It was easy and fun to make – great for gift-giving. I think it would make a cute baby quilt … but that will have to wait. I just picked up my quilts (6!!!) from the long-arm quilter and have some binding to attach.

Have a good week!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelley C permalink
    January 25, 2011 3:53 pm

    That twister pattern is one I want to try soon…I love the ‘tesselting’ look of them. I don’t want to buy the special ruler, I figure I can figure it out myself how to cut them….I’ll probably try a mini quilt just to make sure. Love yours!

  2. Cyn permalink
    January 28, 2011 11:12 am

    Thanks for the tip…..looks like a great little tool to have on hand for those last minute gifts.

  3. February 19, 2011 5:34 am

    Very nice piece of crafting, really appreciable, you worked hard on it as there are too many squares to join, but you nicely sewed it. Great Work buddy..

    • February 21, 2011 6:47 am

      Ya! I agree, it’s really beautiful. It takes the perfection as well as time to do the very minor work while sewing.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
