Skip to content

Out with the old … part 2

January 4, 2011

Company’s gone, decorations have been taken down and packed away for next year, kids are in school and hubby back to work … sigh. I love the Christmas season and am always a bit sad to see it end. 

The New Year is a natural time for fresh starts, and that includes the quilting studio. I just got back from a trip to Almonte where I dropped of a few quilt tops in need of quilting … Joan Read always does such a great job for me. I’m in the midst of finishing a project that was started last year. And then I can dive into a whole new set of projects with some of the beautiful new fabrics arriving in the shop.

As I was going through my stuff, I found these 3 misfit quilts in need of some TLC.

The one on top is completely finished – quilted and bound. It’s about 36″ x 41″. The second quilt in the pile is quilted but not bound. It measures about 48″ square. And the one on bottom is only partially quilted (straight line on the diagonal and outline quilting, done on my old Singer). It’s black, gold and tan and measures about 44″ x 52″. All three need to find good homes – I’m giving them away to three readers who are willing to finish them (if needed) and donate them to a good cause. Just leave a comment mentioning which quilt you’ve got your eye on, and to which group or charity you would donate the quilt. This one’s for Canadian readers only (postage costs being what they are to the US).

I’ll wait until the weekend, and then choose from the comments that have been left.  Don’t forget to take a peek at some of the great deals to be found in the year end clearance (until January 9).

4 Comments
  1. Sue Nelson permalink
    January 4, 2011 2:55 pm

    Would love to finish the top quilt for a little girl, Emma to cuddle up with. Emma and her Mom have just moved into their apartment (from the Women and Children’s Crisis Centre). A group of people have helped them with furniture, kitchen essentials etc. to help them get started in their new life. She is a sweet little one and I could see her cuddling up with this. I am sure it would bring her much comfort at this time. I would gladly finish it and deliver to her. Thank you.

  2. Cyn permalink
    January 5, 2011 12:25 am

    I would be happy to finish the binding on the second quilt. I am a member of a small quilt group and this year we are making quilts to donate to Interval House, a women and children’s shelter. Interval House is opening a new facility next year and we hope to have approximately 30 quilts for them. It will be quite a task as we are only 30 members. An almost finished quilt would be very much appreciated. Thank you for being so thoughtful.

    cyninthekitchen@yahoo.ca

  3. Liz permalink
    January 5, 2011 8:18 am

    Hi Pam, I would be more than happy bind the second quilt as well. Otherwise, I would also offer to finish the bottom quilt. I could pick the quilt up too. Either way, I would offer up the quilt for raffle at work to benefit a charity in our area. The most recent recipients of our raffle proceeds were a local food bank in Ottawa and the United Way. You could help me pick the recipient this time!

  4. Sonia Stanojevic permalink
    January 5, 2011 9:33 am

    Hi, I belong to Caring Quilters of Lambton Shores. We make quilts for our local victim services group. The quilts go out with volunteers to victims of fires. accidents, domestic violence etc. We are always looking for donations of homeless quilts and fabric! The black and gold quilt is a little more masculine looking so that would be a good one for us.
    Thanks

Comments are closed.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
