Skip to content

Lessons learned

October 12, 2010

Posh Tot - Playday & Kona

It was a terrific Thanksgiving weekend – beautiful fall weather, a houseful of guests, and many, many things for which I am thankful. I did manage to get some sewing done – I wanted to quilt the Posh Tot quilt top I made several months ago in time for the Creativ Festival. Thanks to Mari Lyn at Bytowne Threads (right here in Stittsville) I was able to get exactly what I wanted for thread – Aurifil 28 weight in the same green color (1231) as the Play Day Animal Toss. I did straight line quilting at 1″ intervals, but should have listened to my inner voice which was telling me I wasn’t going to be happy with the result. Because my finished blocks are not a  multiple of 1″ the quilting lines do not cross the blocks in a regular manner, and I’m not happy with the way it looks. You can see that I’ve ripped out some stitching and am going to try again. My quilting lines won’t be a regular 1″ apart, but they will line up with the seams in the blocks. Will I like it better? Will it be ready for the Creativ Festival? Maybe, maybe not. We’ll see.

Creativ Festival is now less than 2 weeks away, and I’m busy finishing quilts and cutting fabric to bring with me. Here’s a sneak peek at a quilt I’m just finishing for the booth (with Jilly taking advantage of a break in the action).

Jilly helps me quilt

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 2:56 am

    Pam ….I am really happy you like my heavy thread weights , I am keen on my 28 wt ……Brava

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
