Skip to content

Week 2 of my Christmas Challenge

August 30, 2010

I went back to the Moda Bakeshop for this week’s project. It’s a totally adorable Tiny Tree Skirt by Melissa Mortenson from the Polka Dot Chair.

Tiny Tree Skirt with Colorful Christmas

I chose six fabrics from the Colorful Christmas bundle, and went to my stash for ¾ yard of fabric for the backing. It’s the perfect size for a table top tree. Because I had prewashed my fabrics I was very careful when cutting the triangles, and adjusted the directions slightly to use a triangle that was 8 ½” along the base and 11 ½” high so that I would be able to squeeze nine triangles out of my pieced strip. I even finished the quilting & binding so it’s ready to use in December!

I’ve got 4 weeks to go, and there’s still lots of fabric to get through. Check back next week when I’ll have another Christmas project ready to show you.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 11:19 pm

    Do you do everything by machine? I like your selection of fabrics and your ability to get things done. Good luck is your quest!

  2. September 10, 2010 6:41 am

    It’s pieced and quilted by machine, and the binding is hand stitched.

  3. Maria permalink
    October 29, 2010 10:10 pm

    Found the tree skirt pattern! Yeah!

  4. Marley Mae permalink
    May 1, 2011 9:41 am

    What an awesome Blog you have! Wonderful photo of you three girlies at the top, it darling, comforting and inspiring!! Also, i love the tiny tree skirt and i am going to start one soon. I wonder if it could be doubled to fit a larger tree…
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 945 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
