Skip to content

My six week Christmas challenge

August 23, 2010

I thought it might be fun to challenge myself to get some Christmas projects done. As someone who doesn’t give Christmas a lot of thought until November rolls around, I don’t usually get any Christmas sewing done (too late to start). This year will be different! I started with a ½ yard bundle of Colorful Christmas by My Mind’s Eye for Riley Blake. Here it is pre-washed, dried, pressed and ready to go.

Colorful Christmas pre-washed bundle

My 6 week challenge is to make a different project every week from what’s left of the 4 ½ yards of fabric I’m starting with. And I’m only going to use patterns that I’ve found (for free) on the internet.

I started with a table runner from the Moda Bakeshop (always a yummy place to visit if you love fabric!) It’s called Skinny Verna, and it’s from Vicki over at SpunSugarQuilts.

Skinny Christmas table runner

 The finished size is about 9″ x 30″. I cut the two 2 ½” border strips from the snowflake print and one 1 ¼” strip from each of the remaining 8 fabrics. I also cut two 2 ¼” strips for the binding from the snowflake print, and will need to reserve a 12″ piece of fabric for the backing. I’m saving all my scraps – I may need them before I’m done.

You can find complete directions in Vicki’s tutorial. I was able to speed up assembly by strip-piecing the 1 ¼” strips, and then cutting into five 6″ sections like this:

Please join me in my 6 week challenge. None of the projects should take more than a few hours to complete. It’s a great chance to use up some of your stash, or indulge in some new fabrics. And if you need a nudge, you can save 10% on the ½ yard bundle of Colorful Christmas from now until Labour Day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 9:15 am

    Your table runner looks great. I don’t think I’ll be doing any Christmas quilts this year. It was too stressful last year trying to get so many done. This year, I’ll enjoy the season and continue working on my own projects for me.

  2. Mary Fons permalink
    August 25, 2010 10:47 am

    So smart to start Christmas projects now! You’ve inspired me. Plus, there’s a lot of Christmas fabric on sale right now, since most people aren’t early birds.

Trackbacks

  1. Week 3 of my Christmas Challenge « Mad About Patchwork

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 945 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
