Skip to content

Take 5 Revisited

August 2, 2010

 I made a Take 5 quilt top this week from some Michael Miller dots (I love dots!) in purple (another favorite of mine.) I mixed it up with some brown 21-wale corduroy from Robert Kaufman. I tried the corduroy in a quilt for the first time last year, and fell in love with it. It’s 100% cotton with a very fine wale, so it’s wonderful for adding an interesting texture to your quilt tops, or as a backing. 

Take 5 with Michael Miller

Click here to see another quilt I made earlier this year with the same pattern. The first time I didn’t add borders to the quilt, but I think I will with this one. Brown corduroy for the inner border, and the orchid roundabout for the outer border. Take 5 from Teacher’s Pet is one of my must-have patterns. It’s perfect for beginners, needs only 5 fabrics, and has instructions for 2 sizes. It scales easily to other sizes, and looks great with or without the borders. I love it with big modern prints. It works with everything – Playday, McKenzie, Colorful Christmas and Soleil would all look wonderful.

Don’t forget to check the sales in the shop! Textures are 20% off until Friday – corduroy, Woolies and Minkee. It’s a great time to buy some cozy backing fabrics for all those projects you’re finishing (or soon will be!)

Purple coneflower in my garden this week

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
