Skip to content

The Color Purple

May 17, 2010

I’ve mentioned the garden as a source of color inspiration for quilts, and this week I’m taking my cue from what’s blooming here in Ottawa … tulips, lilacs, violets … in all shades of purple!

Purple is a color often associated with royalty, but I think it’s a fun color for quilts. Here are two lovelies:

Flock of Triangles & Doodle Bricks

The quilt on the left is Flock of Triangles from Denyse Schmidt Quilts, made a few years ago with a combination of solids and prints and quilted by me on my old Singer machine. I don’t do a lot of my own quilting, but spray basting and straight line stitching kept it manageable. I was thrilled with the result!

On the right is Doodle Bricks, which I finished earlier this year. It was quilted with an overall pattern by Joan Read on her Gammill machine. Nice work Joan! The prints in this quilt are all from Simply Delicious by Heidi Pridemore, and it’s available as a kit in the shop.

I’m having a Victoria Day sale, where you can save 20%  on everything purple until May 24th. As well as the Simply Delicious kit and yardage, I’ve got purple Minkee and Woolies flannel for backings on sale. Kona solids too … lupine, lavender, purple, eggplant, mulberry & bright periwinkle.

Today’s final pic features Marie, who never missed an opportunity to get comfortable on a quilt. This one paired purple and chartreuse prints from Lakehouse, which made a colorful nest for a very special kitty.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    May 18, 2010 2:08 pm

    Lots of purple in bloom here, too. Love that cats love quilts so much. I’m positive my cat believes I quilt just to give her soft places to nap and bathe.

    Ashley.

Trackbacks

  1. turns out I am a quilter… and a blogger! – Film in the Fridge

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
