Skip to content

Gifts from the Heart … a day later

May 10, 2010

Ottawa was wet, cold and windy last weekend, which meant lots of people came to escape the weather outside and see the quilts at the Gifts From The Heart quilt show. It was a hectic 3 days in the Mad About Patchwork booth, with my wonderful mom helping me out.

Fat Quarter Frenzy

Dawn's Tote

It was great to meet and chat with my local online customers – now I have faces to go with the names! And I love to hear about what people are working on … or planning to.  I had to take a picture of Dawn’s tote, which featured 1 ½” half square triangles, recycled from another project. She painstakingly saved all the trimmed triangles, and put them together into one sweet bag.

I barely had time to take pictures, but I did manage a whirlwind trip around the floor Sunday afternoon to see what the members of the Common Threads quilt guild had brought to the show. I picked just a few favorites to share, none of them award winners, but definitely winners in my opinion.

The first is a beautiful bed quilt pieced and quilted by Sarah Chisholm; I love the Minny Muu fabric from Lecien, and Sarah cleverly used the Little Charmers 6 table runner pattern by Anka’s Treasures and repeated it 4 times for a big block quilt.

Minny Muu

Playtime

I hope I have the next one identified correctly (someone please let me know if I’ve got it wrong). I think it’s Playtime, pieced by Linda Barsauskas and quilted by Lorraine Campbell. The note said it is to be given to Linda’s first grandchild as a floor play mat. The pattern is Big Bear Log Cabin by Judy Martin. The quilt appealed to me because of the terrific color, and because it is meant to be used and loved!

The last one I’ve picked is Picnic Fun, another one pieced and quilted by Sarah Chisholm (I didn’t realize I had picked two of Sarah’s quilts until I sat down to write this post.) Again, the colors are terrific, and I really liked the paper-pieced string blocks juxtaposed with some very fun summer camp fabrics.

Picnic Fun

Some new fabrics arrived while I was busy with the show, so after I catch my breath, I’ll get those up on the site. I also hope to have a little project finished to share with you next week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 9:25 pm

    Hi I’m Sarah Chisholm who made those quilts. I’m so glad you liked them!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
