Skip to content

Colors of Spring

April 29, 2010

In spite of a bit of snow earlier this week, we’ve had an absolutely amazing spring here in Ottawa. My neighbour’s pink and yellow tulips are in full bloom (what a great color combination!) and my own garden is blooming with pink tulips amid my spring favorite – blue periwinkle. I think the garden is a great place to find color inspiration for your quilts, and I’m giving my favorite spring colors the nod this week.

Alex lends a hand

Save 20% on selected Kona solids in beautiful shades of spring – green, blue, yellow, pink & orange. The sale runs from now until May 5th.

What to do with those beautiful colors? I might try the classic Turning Twenty or the totally modern Foreign Currency for a quick & colorful throw. Or for something a little different, I came across the following free pattern at AllPeopleQuilt.com:

Simple Squares and Bars, from AllPeopleQuilt.com

Inspired by “Zen” from designer Amy Walsh of Blue Underground Studios, this super-simple quilt was made from Kaffe Fassett shot cottons. Why not try it with your favorite shades of spring?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    April 29, 2010 11:51 am

    Oh no a sale! Those colours are beautiful and I love that quilt pattern. Now I’m going to have to go and spend more money at your store…let’s see how long I can resist. Blogs are evil (but your store is awesome.)

  2. April 29, 2010 6:36 pm

    I love Kona cottons! I just ordered my own colour card. Your selection and prices are fabulous – I’m going to have to make my first order from your store. I love shopping Canadian!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
