Skip to content

Three Panel Patch Pillow

April 26, 2010

I had fun with last week’s project. My plan was to make a new cover for a pillow that doubles as a seat cushion on the wicker chair in our bedroom. I thought I was going to make a flanged pillow out of the fabric that I chose last week, but I did what I usually do before I start a project. I pulled out a stack of sewing books and flipped through the pages to see if anything inspired me. And I ended up with a pillow top done in three different fabrics from Amy Butler’s Love collection: 

 I love it!  It’s a simple rail fence pattern that could easily be adjusted to fit any size pillow. I think it would also look great done with scraps. An hour of sewing while the hockey game was on Saturday night finished the top, and another ½ hour of sewing Sunday morning while Tom got breakfast ready finished the back. The inspiration & instructions came from Quilting In No Time, by Emma Hardy. The book has 50 projects that can be done in a weekend (or maybe two). There are some fresh & fun ideas for simple quilts, and lots of smaller projects too.

Even though I’m in the midst of getting ready for the Ottawa quilt show in two weeks (there is never enough time) I’m going to challenge myself to do a bit of sewing this week. Anna & Alex both have birthdays coming up, and I’d love to make them each a little something. Come back next Monday to see what I’ve been up to.

In case you missed it, I’ve been running a giveaway here on the blog. It’s not too late to enter – I’ll be drawing a winner on May 1. Check it out here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 1:12 pm

    This looks great….I love the orange and turquoise dot fabric…used that with the blue version of the paradise fabric to make my apron. In fact I have it on now as I love it so much!! Some of the Amy Butler fabrics just look so good together.

  2. April 26, 2010 4:57 pm

    That is a cute pillow. Sometimes the simplest patterns are the best. I love a good rail fence.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
