Skip to content

Hand-made receiving blankets

April 12, 2010

Last week’s project was a simple receiving blanket for a baby. These are great when you’d like to make a little something to show you care, but a full-blown quilt would be too much.

Receiving blankets

Each blanket requires a yard of flannel  (36″ or 45″ wide) and a half-yard of a cotton print for the binding. I prewashed everything, then cut the flannel into a rectangle about 34″ x 42″. I prepared a double fold binding using 2 ¼ strips from the cotton print, and attached it to the flannel by machine. The binding is turned and hand-stitched to the other side of the flannel.  

I used a single layer of white flannel, which makes a lightweight blanket. Or double-up for something a little heavier. I used prints from Amy Schimler’s Animal Party collection for the binding. 

This week I’m going to tackle something from One Yard Wonders by Rebecca Yaker and Patricia Hoskins. This book has 101 different projects that each require only 1 yard of fabric. I’m having a hard time choosing just one!

One Yard Wonders

2 Comments leave one →
  1. SewLindaAnn permalink
    April 14, 2010 4:34 pm

    I bought the book “One Yard..” also and I can’t wait to see which project you pick. I get these books with sooo many great ideas it’s hard to choose one. I just found your blog from the “Online Shopper’s” blog that I read all the time. I’m looking forward to browsing around and signed up to follow. Have a good one, Linda

  2. July 27, 2010 6:21 pm

    I love your project and this book too… Hope you had a chance to make the laptop cove please let me know how it goes…

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
