Skip to content

Pinwheel Stripe Quilt

March 15, 2010

Here’s the project I started last week:

Pinwheel Stripe Quilt

I wanted to use the Little House candy striped fabric in a quilt, and had been wanting to make Jodi’s Pinwheel Baby Quilt from the Moda Bakeshop for a while. I thought the stripes would work well with the pinwheels, but I modified the pattern to use an accent strip between the two borders instead of the prairie points. The accent strip is a 1″ piece of fabric folded wrong sides together and inserted between the two borders, so that the folded edge shows. It has a clean & fresh look that I love.

Here’s a close-up of the pinwheel and accent strip:

I made sure the stripe was always running the same way when making the half-square triangle units for the pinwheels. That way my pinwheels all look the same, but if you were less inclined for regularity you could cut them differently.

I’ve put together a kit with ½ yard of the stripe fabric, ¾ yard of Sky for the accent & binding, plus 1 ¼ yards of White for the pinwheels and borders. I’m going to finish mine with soft blue minkee for the backing.

 Here’s the fabric from Valori Wells DelHi collection that I’ve picked for this week’s project:

Flora Blossom by Valori Wells

Fingers crossed that I get time to work on it. I’ll get back next week with a progress report.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 948 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
