Skip to content

February Giveaway

February 1, 2010

I’d like to celebrate the shortest month of winter with a giveaway. I’m also celebrating the completion of my latest quilt top:

Foreign Currency - ready to quilt

I’ve used a bundle of Kona Solid fat quarters and the versatile Foreign Currency pattern from Cherry House Quilts to make a quilt for my 13 year old son Alex. It’s ready to quilt – but what color should I choose for the backing? I’d like to know what you think.

Here’s how the giveaway is going to work. Just visit the website to see the colors I used in the quilt, and then leave a comment here to tell me what color you’d like to see on the back. At the end of the month, I’ll choose a winner at random. And the prize will be … the same bundle of Kona Solid fat quarters that I used in my quilt!

P.S. The quilt is going to the longarm quilter today, so I’ve already picked a color. But I’m not going to tell you what it is until the end of the month.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Dewar permalink
    February 1, 2010 12:11 pm

    Great looking quilt! I would encourage Alex to pick his favourite colour from the group for the backing.
    Jill

  2. February 1, 2010 12:16 pm

    Your Foreign Currency top looks wonderful, and I’m so excited about your kits for Baby, I Do! I hope you will be sure and add them to my Flickr group.

    You are awesome!

    Cherri

  3. Mel permalink
    February 1, 2010 3:42 pm

    What a great quilt for a boy! I think I would choose something bright like the sour apple. Thanks for the chance.

  4. February 1, 2010 8:16 pm

    I love how your quilt turned out. I would chose Mocha for the back. It’s such a great colour and perfect for little boys!!

  5. February 1, 2010 8:25 pm

    I like mocha, I tend to vear towards the darker for backing! This top looks really great.

  6. Sarah permalink
    February 1, 2010 10:50 pm

    I vote for the colour Copen!

  7. February 2, 2010 12:35 am

    I’d have to agree with mocha!

  8. Monica permalink
    February 5, 2010 5:45 am

    I love the bold colours and would put the royal blue on the back continue with the intensity of colours from the front and it’s a good “boy” colour. I think the brown shades would be too much of a contrast (for my liking!)

  9. February 7, 2010 8:03 am

    I would go with either coffee or royal .. depending on the colour of your son’s room. Hard choice!!!!

  10. Sandra permalink
    February 7, 2010 3:46 pm

    My personal favourite is “Copen” for the backing. Love the contrast of blues and browns…..

  11. Kate McDonald permalink
    February 7, 2010 7:18 pm

    Hi
    I would go with the medium blue, its softer than the royal blue, but not babyish blue. It will be fun to see which colour you picked!

  12. Deedles permalink
    February 8, 2010 11:29 am

    I would say mocha would be a great color for the back.

  13. February 10, 2010 12:41 am

    Denim blue is my preference for the backing, as it stands out most among the earthy tones.
    Well, who doesn’t love denim?? Recycled jeans would be quite conscious, too.

  14. JennL permalink
    February 10, 2010 3:10 pm

    My vote is for mocha too…but I’m kind of boring with my browns. Just found your online shop and blog. Will keep checking in. Yeah! for another Canadian fabric source.

  15. February 11, 2010 12:22 am

    My gut says Windsor, but I’d probably use Navy if it were up to me. Regardless, it’s a great looking quilt!

  16. Patty permalink
    February 16, 2010 4:01 pm

    I like the color windsor, it’s a nice blue for a guy.

  17. Marianna permalink
    February 17, 2010 10:14 pm

    Mocha!

  18. Jolene permalink
    February 27, 2010 10:29 am

    I’ve found another Canadian fabric store! I’d like to see it backed with Copen and a binding in Amber. Or the other way around would be cool too.

  19. woland permalink
    February 28, 2010 1:03 am

    Great quilt! I love Windsor – but sour apple would also be a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
