Skip to content

Quiltcon Workshops

February 24, 2013

I’m still giddy! I just spent the  day at a Denyse Schmidt workshop on improvisational piecing. See those bags? Full of scraps … pick one without looking, and add it to your block. Only 1 rule – you can’t put anything back. Don’t like the color? or pattern? or size? Too bad … you’ve got to go with the flow. Trim and repeat until you’ve run out of time. What a wonderfully freeing and fun way to play with color and pattern.

These are the blocks the class made in the morning. In the afternoon we did more of the same, but this time we were allowed to use a favourite fabric that we brought from home. We also picked (blind) a solid that we were allowed to use as we wished in our block construction.

This is my result for the afternoon – I used the Pat Bravo floral from home and got a burgundy shot cotton as my solid. I was able to finish 6 blocks. I found it to be a very liberating and organic way to build a block. I’m determined to play with this more at home.

The other workshop I was able to attend at Quiltcon was a color workshop with Weeks Ringle (from Modern Quilt Studio). Weeks and her husband Bill started making modern quilts together in the 1990’s. In the workshop Weeks explained value, hue and saturation. She has do some color exercises based on paintings from the old masters, and then a fabric “smack-down” with a partner. She also had a number of  their meticulously planned and executed quilts and explained the color choices behind them.

Two completely different approaches to colour and quilt design … one analytical and structured (Weeks Ringle), the other organic and improvisational (Denyse Shmidt). I learned a lot from both of these very talented quiltmakers!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2013 10:48 pm

    Wow! What a wonderful day of workshops! Thank you for this wonderful description. I am taking Weeks’ on-line class on Craftsy and it is absolutely wonderful. I’ve also read a couple of her books and was very inspired. When I eventually get some scraps, I would love to try that grab-bag technique. Looks like fun!

  2. Kirstin permalink
    February 24, 2013 10:54 pm

    Wow!!! I want to try this at home…. Use up my scraps, what a great way to decrease the stash AND get something interesting. Great inspiration!!

  3. Theresa permalink
    February 24, 2013 11:00 pm

    Thanks for sharing! Awesome job

  4. February 25, 2013 12:57 am

    I am so jealous! I will be going next year…I know you are having fun and can’t wait for you to share all you learned ;0)

  5. February 25, 2013 3:53 am

    I made a log cabin quilt last year using the grab technique. I have always been afraid of mixing colours and patterns but, using a mainly blue palette decided to just go for it. The result was not perfect but it was surprisingly easy on the eye.
    If you would to see it please look on my blog. http://bossymamma.blogspot.co.uk/p/sewing.html

  6. February 25, 2013 9:41 am

    That looks like so much fun!!!!!

  7. February 25, 2013 10:36 am

    Looks like a great weekend and great workshops. How were you able to manage sewing with your cast?

  8. Ada Shave permalink
    February 25, 2013 2:17 pm

    Thanks for the idea, I will use that when my scrap boxes needs cleaning out.

  9. February 27, 2013 5:36 pm

    Sounds like so much fun!

  10. February 27, 2013 5:44 pm

    love the idea of grab bags the best effects surprise you when finished.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 942 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
