Skip to content

Going to QuiltCon?

August 30, 2012

After a lot of should I or shouldn’t I, I took the plunge and registered. Yes, I’m going to Austin in February for QuiltCon, a conference and show especially for those interested in modern quilting organized by The Modern Quilt Guild. There is a wonderful line-up of workshops and lectures, and it was hard to narrow it down to just three. In the end, I chose Every Last Stitch (hand quilting) with Anna Marie Horner, Understanding the Role of Color in Your Quilts with Weeks Ringle, and Improvisational Patchwork with Denyse Schmidt. I also have a lecture pass for Saturday when I don’t have any workshops scheduled. It should be amazing!!

Registration opened today. Check it out here – and let me know if you decide to go. I’d love to meet up with some fellow Canadians. And Austin in February should be a nice break from the Ottawa winter!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. beachedlibrarian permalink
    August 30, 2012 11:31 am

    I’m not going, but I’m very curious about it, so I hope you share some of your experience when the time comes :) Have fun!

  2. August 30, 2012 12:52 pm

    there are about 10 of us going from Vancouver, we’ll definitely have to meet up!

  3. August 30, 2012 12:58 pm

    I’m going and I’ll be in the hand-quilting class along with you! I’m happy that you’ve decided to go to QuiltCon and I look forward to meeting you there! About ten members of the Vancouver MQG will be going.

  4. Ginette permalink
    August 30, 2012 2:07 pm

    Sounds like you will have a blast!! Can’t wait to hear about it when you get back!

  5. August 30, 2012 9:52 pm

    My friend and I are also going. We’re also from Ottawa so we could be on the same flight.

  6. Sheila Perl permalink
    August 31, 2012 8:00 am

    Have a wonderful time and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  7. September 1, 2012 3:23 pm

    I was back and forth on it, but have pretty well settled on not going. It’s a lot of money to get there/stay there and then to top it off, the classes are SO expensive. (Classes for International Quilt Festival in Houston are $35 for 3 hour classes and $65 for 6 hours plus $35 registration. Compared to $75 and 150.) Maybe another year.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 943 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
