Skip to content

Housekeeping

July 8, 2012

I’ve been doing some fabric housekeeping this week. I had scraps and stash that were at least 15 years old, so I had to be ruthless. All my newer scraps had been sorted at Christmas when I was working on this, and I have accumulated quite a large bin of solid scraps which I am putting to use. But there were other bits and pieces all over the house which I gathered up. Some went straight to the garbage, and the rest were sorted into two piles – one to keep, and one to give away.

I’m keeping the homespuns – there are some nice checks and plaids that will play nicely with the shot cottons.

And these bits have been put aside to make quilties (little quilts for preemies in the neonatal unit) with the Kanata Guild.

This is a bundle of traditional fabrics from my older stash and projects. They are mostly fat quarters or bigger, with a few smaller pieces. Enough to make at least a lap size or maybe even a twin quilt top. I’d be happy to donate these to a group making charity quilts. You would just need to pay the postage, or if you’re local (Ottawa area) then you can arrange to pick up in Stittsville. Let me know if you’re interested, and I can give you a quote for postage.

I’d like to know how you manage to keep your own scraps from taking over your storage space. How do you decide what to keep and what to toss? What about those projects that just didn’t work out? Or the fabric you loved at the time, but can’t see yourself using now? Leave me a comment before July 15th and I’ll draw a winner at random. The prize? A copy of the new GenQ magazine … I haven’t seen it yet, but I should be getting my copies this week. I’ll have them for sale in the shop once they arrive.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila Perl permalink
    July 8, 2012 8:58 pm

    I used to keep every scrap of fabric and never threw anything out, I would lay the scraps out on interfacing and sew over them and then pile on more scraps and decorative stitches and yarn, threads and make “fabric” and then make that into pillows and purses and bags. I recently got fed up with that and trashed all those little bitty scraps! Yes, I could use all those tiny scraps for stuffing pillows, toys, dolls but….

    I give “why did I buy this?” yardage to Salvation Army or my favourite charity group http://www.outfits4orphans@yahoo.com for their sewers to make into dresses, skirts, shorts, etc.

    Projects that don’t work out make nice backing pieces for quilts that DO work out! :)

  2. Ada Shave permalink
    July 8, 2012 9:04 pm

    I just make scrap quilts with my left overs. but I am only a beginner. like the idea from previous comment about projects that don’t work out to use for backings. I purchased this kit for the pattern, but the god offul material that came with it. look good in the picture. and it should make a good backing

  3. July 8, 2012 9:19 pm

    I can’t bear to throw away any scraps larger than 2 cm. After all, that’s like throwing good money down the drain! So lately I’ve been making lots of string blocks to use my thin scraps up. At the same time, I am cutting charm squares and I Spy squares if the fabric is large enough. Anything larger than 5 inches gets put into a different box for making zippy bags, tissue covers, or other small projects.
    Larger pieces get organized by size, color, and type (Japanese, American, floral, solids) so I can find what I need when I need it.
    So far, I haven’t thrown away or given away anything. I just used some 25 year old goose print fabric from the 80′s to make a new ironing board cover, so a use will be found for everything someday.
    Sorry I didn’t have much advice on how to manage your stash. Mine just keeps growing as I can’t bear to part with any of it!

  4. Joyce Mitchell permalink
    July 8, 2012 9:43 pm

    I haven’t been quilting that long so I don’t have a lot of old fabrics. I have one box where I put strip leftovers – at least 1-1/2″ wide; another box where I keep leftover squares – at least 2″; and a third box where odd sized pieces go. Thanks.

  5. July 8, 2012 9:55 pm

    I’ll take your scraps. I make quite a few charity quilts and could always use more fabric. It will put a different spin on what I already have.

  6. July 8, 2012 10:44 pm

    I’ve given away a lot of scraps to new quilters who don’t have much of a stash. A lot of my online friends do a lot of paper-piecing, so small bits in a lot of colours are always useful for them.

  7. July 9, 2012 12:02 am

    I keep the scraps of the fabric I love, throw out small scraps and donate projects gone wrong and yardage I fell out of love with to my church charity quilting group.

  8. July 9, 2012 2:00 am

    Hmmmm, scraps!! I save ALL scraps no matter what size. At one stage I sorted them by colour, ironed them ALL and put them in baggies. But then I made something and they all got messed up again and again so I now just keep them all in 2 mail tubs and root through as and when I need them! I just signed up to a scrap swap/scrappy item so that will help, I hope! :)

  9. Angie H. permalink
    July 9, 2012 11:13 am

    I know some people sell theirs or put them in bins by color, but I give mine to co-workers or our local school. I sew so much and I have so many bins of fabric, just to try to keep track would drive me crazy. I love that someone else can get good use out of them.

  10. July 9, 2012 8:14 pm

    I am trying to use the Bonnie Hunter scrap system. I try to cut my scraps into some usable form, strips or squares. It takes time to work on the backlog. I am using some scraps that inherited to make a postage stamp variation.

  11. MoeWest permalink
    July 10, 2012 11:35 am

    I’ve only been building my stash for about 5 years, so I like my scraps for the most part. I keep strings together for a future string quilt. Selvages are saved. I keep binding leftovers together for scrappy bindings or small projects. Other scraps smaller than a FQ are in plastic bins sorted by colour, and they are useful for small projects. I haven’t done a scrappy quilt yet because I’m not buried in scraps.

  12. Lisa permalink
    July 12, 2012 6:13 pm

    I’m not very organized with my scraps. They are all mixed up in a bag. I’d like to find time to cut and organize my scraps by colour….it would be a great summer project.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 942 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
