Skip to content

Birthday Celebration

April 4, 2012

It’s been 4 years since I opened Mad About Patchwork for online shopping, an occassion which definitely calls for celebration. As a thank you to all my wonderful customers, you can use the coupon BIRTHDAY10 at checkout anytime in April and save $10 on orders over $75. I’m also hosting a giveaway for the rest of the month, with two identical prizes.

You can win this beach glass bundle of Kona solids along with a yard of Kona White and the Sliced Fruit pattern from Cherry House Quilts. I made this Sliced Fruit quilt for Anna’s bed, and still love the crisp white with the bold stripes of color.  This versatile quilt also shows up as City Bank in the City Quilts book, so you can get a look at a completely different color scheme.

Leave a comment telling me about your favorite beach for a chance to win. I’ll mention the beach at Sandbanks Provincial Park here in Ontario. It’s a beautiful stretch of sandy beach on Lake Ontario south of Belleville. I remember it best from a long-ago camping trip when our little family was just Emily, not quite 2 years old. The summer when it was impossible to keep clothes on her and she ran naked everywhere :) The sun shone every day. We still camped in a tent, and there was sand in everything. If I close my eyes I can travel back in my mind to that perfectly beautiful week. What happy memories!

You can increase your chance of winning by leaving comments on my other blog posts in April. Only 1 comment per post please, but I will draw the 2 winners by random number from all the comments left in April. Good luck!

The last thing to note is the feature in the shop for April is 15% off all designer fabric bundles. Some new things came in at the end of March, like Stockholm by Robin Zingone from Robert Kaufman, Freshcut by Heather Bailey for Freespirit, and Fly A Kite by October Afternoon for Riley Blake. Take a peek on the site … I’ll post pictures another time.

54 Comments leave one →
  1. Michele T permalink
    April 4, 2012 2:58 pm

    The first beach that comes to mind is Wasaga Beach – we were only there once in the summer and it was awesome an memorable!!

  2. buntyw permalink
    April 4, 2012 3:12 pm

    My favourite beach is at Omey Island which is off the west coast of Ireland – beautiful sand and lots of shells!

  3. April 4, 2012 3:25 pm

    I come from Saskatchewan and have never spent much time on beaches, so I’m not sure I have a favourite one. We used to go up to Lac Des Iles every summer when I was a kid, so I suppose that beach would be my favourite just because of the memories I have there. I was afraid of the water – what if fish touched me! – so I didn’t spend a lot of time in the cold cold cold water, but did spend a fair amount of time on the sand.

    Anyway, happy four year anniversary!

  4. Mary permalink
    April 4, 2012 3:27 pm

    My favourite beach is Burnstown Beach just a few minutes away from me. Awesome views, clean clear water..very family friendly. Congrats on your 4 year anniversary!

  5. Barbara permalink
    April 4, 2012 3:40 pm

    My favorite beach is were i live in Italy. It’s called ” Riviera del Conero” and it’s bellissima (beautyful) !!! Congrats on your anniversary and Thanks for the chance to win.

  6. April 4, 2012 3:49 pm

    My favourite beach has got to be Long Beach in Tofino. I’ve only ever been there in the winter and it tends to be deserted with the waves crashing and the wind blowing. Happy Anniversary!

  7. robin permalink
    April 4, 2012 4:26 pm

    My favorite beach is just a tiny lake beach near where I grew up on Lake Linka in Minnesota – it’s where I learned to swim. Many happy memories, fine sand, and very shallow. :)

  8. Jane permalink
    April 4, 2012 5:02 pm

    I live in NS and we have lots of beautiful beaches. The top of my list would be Lawrencetown Beach, about 15 km from my home. Lots of surf, sand and beach rocks and the surfers love it.
    The greatest place to ride the waves after a storm.

  9. Morgan permalink
    April 4, 2012 5:11 pm

    Happy birthday! I love Baker Beach in San Francisco, with the great view of the Golden Gate and all the dogs frolicking! Thanks for the giveaway!

  10. Jo Crabtree permalink
    April 4, 2012 5:15 pm

    Carolina Beach just South of Wilmington NC. We go every summer with our grandsons and family. Nice quiet town and beautiful beach! Thanks for the giveaway!

  11. marie ireland permalink
    April 4, 2012 5:33 pm

    Favorite beach is Mikisew Prov. Park, South River, Ontario….great memories of sand, little kids & FUN!

  12. CathyC in Alberta permalink
    April 4, 2012 5:41 pm

    My favorite beach is near my parents home..a little spot called Davis Bay on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. All of their 7 grandchildren and now some of the 9 great-g-kids have spent time there while visiting. The joy on their faces while finding seashells, crabs, seaweed, etc., looking out across the ocean and watching the cruise ships heading up or returning from Alaska…spectacular.
    Thanks for a chance to win some great fabric.

  13. Barbara Mitchell permalink
    April 4, 2012 5:58 pm

    Hi Pam, I just got back from one of the most incredible places in the world. I was at a yoga retreat in the very isolated Osa Pennisula,Costa Rica. Not a soul on the beach at Boca Sombrero but us and only thirty steps from my open air bed!

    Love my shot cotton that arrived while I was away!

    Barbara

  14. Jody from Vancouver permalink
    April 4, 2012 6:17 pm

    Kahalu’u beach, Big Island, Hawaii. Perfection!

  15. Joyce Mitchell permalink
    April 4, 2012 7:14 pm

    I don’t go to the beach very often anymore – but when I did I liked Carolina Beach, NC. Thanks for the chance to win. Happy 4th anniversary.

  16. Jane Paquette permalink
    April 4, 2012 7:24 pm

    My favourite beach is Long Point on Lake Erie in Ontario. I used to work in travel and have been to some stunning beaches, but there is nothing like the feel of the beautiful, soft sand and the shallow shoreline that let’s you ease into the water.

  17. JennX permalink
    April 4, 2012 8:17 pm

    Oh no- Mel stole my beach! It’s just “that” breathtakingly beautiful- Long Beach in Tofino. Since I was there (some 20 years ago??), I said it was the most beautiful place in the whole world. And in that 20 years, I’ve visited nearly 25 countries and still haven’t changed my mind.

  18. Sue Nelson permalink
    April 4, 2012 9:03 pm

    Our favorite beach is in Barrie on Lake Simcoe (our family call it “Our Secret Beach”)
    It’s very quiet with a breaktaking view of the Lake, small beach area and play area for the grandchildren.

  19. April 4, 2012 11:06 pm

    Our fav place to chill and enjoy the ocean sounds is Oak Island, NC. It’s quiet and gorgeous…far from the hustle and bustle of the Myrtle Beach area. Our idea of heaven!
    Congratulations on your anniversary!

  20. C Downer permalink
    April 4, 2012 11:37 pm

    Sauble Beach, Ontario – voted Canada’s best fresh water beach. Can’t beat those sunsets!

  21. April 4, 2012 11:37 pm

    Not much beach life on the Prairies, but in my youth(smile), there were some fantastic holiday beaches! Hawaii comes to mind!

  22. April 5, 2012 12:36 am

    My favourite beach is more of a sentimental choice and less for it’s actual beach. I’ve spent summers all my life at Clearwater Lake in Saskatchewan. Not the BIG Clearwater Lake … the eeny weeny one … some might call it a pond. It’s a little oasis in the middle of the bald Saskatchewan prairie and only minutes from our family farm. There are cabins at least 2 deep all the way around it and a very busy campground, too. Many happy days and nights were and still are spent there at all stages of my life. First kisses, first beer, midnight swims, popsicles, shoestring licorice, dances in the round dance hall, movies at the drive-in theatre … ahhhhh the memories. See what you started?

  23. Kristen Sanderson permalink
    April 5, 2012 12:49 am

    My favorite beach is Paarens Beach. I have a lot of great memories of the times I spent there as a kid. Thanks for the chance.

  24. Kirstin from Ottawa permalink
    April 5, 2012 8:29 am

    My favorite beach would be on the northern part of New Brunswick. Tide Head beach, we would go fishing on the Restigouche river. Rocky beach but awesome.

  25. April 5, 2012 9:23 am

    I’m from Nova Scotia where the ocean is all around us. Almost too many great beaches to pick just one! But I think I will say Martinique Beach which is on the Eastern Shore of the Province. We would go there most weekends. You can walk forever on it’s sandy shore, quiet, beautiful. Just talking about it makes me home sick (I am living in Ottawa now). Happy Birthday!

  26. Ada Shave permalink
    April 5, 2012 10:06 am

    I live in Newfoundland and they have a Sandbanks Beach as well, it is in Burgeo. white sandy beach. as a kid we use to go to Piccadilly Provincial Park on the Atlantic Ocean, and at low tide we would dig clams.

  27. bess permalink
    April 5, 2012 11:24 am

    what a fabulous giveaway! we love indian rocks beach near st. petersburg, florida. we go to visit my folks every summer, and it’s perfect for a jog in the morning, followed by a key lime donut from the little donut shop across the street, and then back with the kids for fun in the water. we’ve seen stingrays and dolphins and, last summer – a manatee! it’s perfect!

  28. Alice permalink
    April 5, 2012 3:02 pm

    I love Cavendish beach and the singing sands at Basin Head…both in PEI.

  29. April 5, 2012 9:36 pm

    hi Pam

    Our favourite beach is in New Brunswick…It is called Bouctouche Dunes. We spent an evening there walking along the boardwalk and then back along the water’s edge.

    happy Easter! Gail

  30. April 5, 2012 11:48 pm

    For me it is a tie. My favorite lounge I the sun beach is Sanibel Island in Florida. My favorite rocky beach is anywhere on the Oregon coast.

  31. April 6, 2012 12:58 am

    wow, lots of beaches delighting us. my favorite beach is in Playa De Carmen Mexico. I have been there a couple of times . I live far away in Iowa and traveled there for a winter get away. Any beach is wonderful in the middle of February! Congrats on your anniversary. I have not shopped with you yet but love to see the new things you have been sewing. Thanks so much for a great giveaway and a chance to win. I know my daughter would love a quilt out of these beach glass colors. janita

  32. Hueisei permalink
    April 6, 2012 10:41 pm

    I loved Bali beach, Indonesia. We spent our honeymoon there :)

  33. Jilly permalink
    April 7, 2012 2:27 am

    I also love Sandbanks, and have many vivid memories of the way the air smells there…

    My current fav though, would be BC’s Mystic Beach, west coast of Vancouver Island… 2 km hike to the beach crossing small suspension bridge, fallen log bridges and a HUGE 100 meter staircase carved out of a tree trunk (AWESOME)… Once on the beach you will find water carved caves at low tide, and waterfall streaming from the small cliff above and landing on the beach, & last year the addition of a rope swing someone tied to a windblown crooked tree also from he cliff above… A hidden gem for those willing to take the trek in. :-)

  34. lisa m permalink
    April 7, 2012 5:07 am

    Another Ontario girl here, with a vote for our local beach in Cobourg. Including a great splash pad for the kids.

  35. MarciaW permalink
    April 7, 2012 10:20 pm

    Panama City Beach, Panama City, Florida – pure sugar sand
    Thanks for the chance.

  36. Anne Simonot permalink
    April 7, 2012 11:28 pm

    Piccadilly Provincial Park in western Newfoundland – born near there and spent the first 12 years of my life in that province. This park’s beaches go on forever, the tide goes out, and there are sandbanks and ocean bottom to explore – a magical place.

  37. Sandra permalink
    April 8, 2012 4:23 pm

    Took a trip to Vietnam last November and stopped at China Beach. It stretches for miles and miles, nothing but white sand and sea; just wished we could have stayed longer! Happy 4th anniversary

  38. April 9, 2012 12:32 pm

    There are so many beaches up and down Lake Huron but my favourite would have to be the one I spent every day of every summer on while growing up on the then outskirts of Sarnia.

    Congrats on your anniversary!

  39. Lisa permalink
    April 9, 2012 4:28 pm

    My favourite beach is the beach at the Pancake Bay campground on Lake Superior. The beach has beautiful white sand. We were there with the kid’s years and years ago. I remember having to get out of the water because it was so cold my toes and fingers were getting numb. But the kid’s stayed in for ages longer.

  40. Cyn permalink
    April 10, 2012 12:10 am

    I’ve been to some really beautiful beaches in Hawaii and Australia and even in Ireland but my favorite beach is at Charleston Lake Provincial Park right here in Ontario. It’s nothing too exciting…just a little beach on a little lake. We’ve camped there for years so it’s comfy and familiar. After a day of swimming or hiking it’s nice to sit on the sand and look out at the lake, watch the waves ripple and maybe spot an otter or heron or turtle.

  41. Paul Leger permalink
    April 13, 2012 9:19 am

    Which beach is not a nice beach? So many choices, being I am an eastcoaster I will have to say that the beach at Robichaud Office, NB is the place. I spent many summer holidays and vacations there at my parent’s cottage; many great memories. But a more recent discovery is the beach at the little fishing village of Corea, Maine, a little heaven on earth.

  42. toekneechestnut permalink
    April 13, 2012 10:37 am

    Palm Beach, the Pittwater side…a northern suburb of Syney NSW is where I spent my childhood balmy summer holidays, holds the best memories for me and the cutest pink shells.

  43. Kate permalink
    April 13, 2012 4:37 pm

    I have been to some lovely beaches, and some are mentioned here, but I think my favourite is Rathtrevor Provincial Park on Vancouver Island. At low tide, you can walk out on the sand for nearly 1Km and at high tide, there is no beach at all.

  44. Roberta permalink
    April 13, 2012 7:52 pm

    My fav beach is our local beach in Enderby, BC. It is nice and sandy on the shuswap river. It is a perfect beach to “tube” down the river to.

  45. April 14, 2012 2:19 pm

    My favourite beach is Jericho Beach in Vancouver. I’ve spent a lot of time there with my family over the years and I love seeing the ocean and the mountains and the city from there.

  46. April 15, 2012 11:10 pm

    Congrats on your four year anniversary, Pam! I love Sandbanks too and also love Queensland beach in Nova Scotia. Thanks for the giveaway!

  47. Emily permalink
    April 24, 2012 6:47 pm

    Picking a favourite beach is tough! The beach at Constance Bay is pretty nice, and I remember Rainbow Bay in Nova Scotia being great too! Thanks for the giveaway!

  48. April 26, 2012 5:43 pm

    My favourite beach in Canada would be Sandbanks too. I did a sandcastle contest there as a kid and wore handmade clothes – still have a photo of it! Here in the UK I would say my fav each would be Scarborough – it has a nice beach section and a tacky ‘seaside’ section – typical UK and awesome! My first attempt at posting this didn’t work at the beginning of the month for some reason so I hope this one saves!! Darn WordPress… Thanks for the chance!

  49. Stacey permalink
    April 29, 2012 11:55 am

    The beach in Melbourne Florida is wonderful. It’s almost always deseerted and you can wander for hours. Growing up, the beach at Lake Ronkonkoma will always remain in my heart too. Thanks for the chance to win some wonderful fabric…just perfect!

  50. April 29, 2012 2:11 pm

    I don’t find much sea glass here, but my favorite beach is the one right in front of my house on my lake – Lake Pulaski. I plan on spending lots of time there with my two year old granddaughter this summer.

  51. Jayme F permalink
    April 29, 2012 2:30 pm

    favorite beach would have to be the strip of beaches in Cancun mexico! My husband and mine’s anniversary there was amazing!

  52. April 29, 2012 6:37 pm

    Favorite beach — ah, that must be Agate Beach on Lake Superior in Michigan’s UP. Rocky, windy, wild, never hot and always agates to find.

  53. Carla G permalink
    April 29, 2012 11:52 pm

    My favorite beach would be Waikiki, Hawaii! Just loved it every time I’ve been there & hope one day to go back and take my kids & hubby. (There are no good beaches anywhere close to where I live)… Thanks for a chance to win! :)

  54. Roxann permalink
    April 30, 2012 3:18 am

    My favorite memory of the beach was in Rimini, Italy…Many years ago when I could actually get away with wearing a string bikini and reading a trashy novel while enjoying the sun, sand, and warm water. Most beach memories are of much colder areas in WA and OR…gotta bundle up most of the time there!
    What a lovely giveaway!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
