Skip to content

Road trip reflection

November 14, 2011

I made a trip down to London (Ontario) last week. I was invited to present a trunk show to the London Friendship Guild on Thursday, and then a workshop on Saturday. There were 16 women at the workshop, and I demonstrated 2 different blocks. The first was Kate Conklin’s stack and slash “Through the Trees”. I really enjoyed seeing the different fabrics that people chose to work with (sorry for the blurry cell phone images!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Most of the women were able to finish 8 blocks, and we discussed different ways of setting them. Gail even managed to get hers set in a wonky coin quilt using some Kona Sour for sashing.

Great finish Gail!

In the afternoon we tackled some quartered squares from Ashley’s tutorial on Film In The Fridge. It turned out to be a lot of cutting, so only a few actually finished a block. Next time I would have the workshop participants cut their fabric ahead of time so we could get more sewing done. All in all I think everyone enjoyed the day and were happy with the results.

Gail had several of us back to her house for dinner on Saturday and I got to see a little show and tell from Gail and Christine. I’m sorry I didn’t take pictures but they had some stunning quilts!  And I heard a bit about their trip to Gwen Marston’s Beaver Island retreat last September. It sounded like an amazing time, and they both had some wonderful quilted “studies” that they completed while they were there. I’m seriously considering registering for the 2012 retreat which will feature Liberated Medallions.

And when I was driving back to Woodstock from Gail’s home in St. Thomas on Saturday night I got to hear the last 1/2 hour of Randy Bachman’s Vinyl Tap on CBC radio. His theme for the show was the voice, and he played some of the most recognizable and distinctive voices in pop music. Where else would you hear Jimmy Durante, Stevie Wonder, Luciano Pavarotti and Burton Cummings in the same playlist? The last voice on Saturday’s show was Neil Diamond, which started to play just as I was pulling off the highway into Woodstock. Which is too funny, because when I was growing up in the 70’s we owned 2 8-track tapes – Charlie Pride for my dad, and Neil Diamond for my mom. Believe it or not, I have many fond memories of listening to both, and it was a happy coincidence that Neil Diamond was playing on the radio as I returned home. If you want to listen to the show you can find it here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann permalink
    November 18, 2011 7:44 pm

    i love vinyl tap. when i’m driving to or from Guelph when visiting our daughter it often comes on and \i’m amazed at his knowledge. His themes are so cool too. It’s only when his wife, Darlene?, comes on that it sometimes gets awkward. Gotta love the CBC.

  2. Jacqui VMS permalink
    November 19, 2011 8:20 pm

    I had a great time at the workshop Pam! I’ve been away almost all this week, but hope to finish putting together the quilt top next week! Thanks for coming! I just got the blog post of the meeting up on the London Friendship guild blog…hope to get the workshop post up this weekend as well. Check it out at: http://lfqg.blogspot.com/2011/11/november-guild-meeting.html

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 944 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
