Skip to content

Innocent Crush

July 11, 2011

Innocent Crush is Anna Marie Horner’s collection for Freespirit from last fall. I’ve been eyeing it on the shelves for a while, and finally took the plunge last week.

I used the Modern Day Diamonds pattern from Threaded Pear Studio, which certainly lived up to it’s “Quilt In An Afternoon” title. I made copies of the full-size templates included in the pattern and cut 18 large diamonds for the quilt center, and various half diamonds to fill in the edges. The finished quilt is about 48″  x 58″. I used a fat quarter bundle of both palettes from the Innocent Crush collection – Charmed (cool) and Swept Away (warm). If you prefer to keep it all in one color family, you could always use two bundles of the same palette. I think some long arm quilting will really make those diamonds sparkle.

After cutting the diamonds I had a lot of leftover fabric which I cut into 2.5″ inch squares (more than 400). I’m busy piecing a second quilt top which I should have ready to show you next week. My success with the big diamonds also made me pull out a pile of abandoned Soul Blossoms diamonds from earlier this year, which I’m planning to put into action soon (check out Lee’s Harlequin Pillow tutorial to see what I mean). It’s been a good week!

Innocent Crush is on sale in July – save 25% on bundles, rolls, charms and yardage!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 4:48 pm

    It’s funny (to me) that you’ve done this quilt just now because I spent an hour or so last night googling diamond and hexagon and thousand pyramid patterns to use with my FQ bundles of this line. I couldn’t seem to find anything I liked that also had patterns for whole quilts (rather than just templates and general construction information). I’m not always the biggest fan of AMH’s prints in isolation, but I love how they look when they’re put together and they feel to me like they need to be used in something scrappy and maybe a little old-fashioned, like tumblers or diamonds. All of which is to say that I like the quilt! And I’m definitely considering picking up that pattern (though I do hate to copy the idea directly).

  2. July 12, 2011 12:05 am

    A wonderful version of Innocent Crush quilt! I think copying your idea might work for me!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 942 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
