Skip to content

Pattern Play

April 12, 2011

I’m always happy to find a pattern that I can remake or play with. This week it was Doodle Bricks that got pulled out and turned into a quick little baby quilt using up more of those Botany strips I’ve been working with. The original pattern has horizontal rows of 2.5″ wide bricks separated with narrow sashing (you can see it here). This time I turned it sideways with the bricks running top to bottom – the finished quilt is about 34″ x 42″. I used some extra bricks to piece the backing, and did some simple straight line quilting.

That was 12 more strips from the Botany roll, plus Kona Snow for the sashing and pieced back. I’m already working on another quilt from the same roll for next week. Stay tuned!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    April 12, 2011 6:57 pm

    Oh that came out great. I love the simplicity of it. And I love how you pieced the back. Really ties it all together.

  2. April 12, 2011 10:36 pm

    this looks like a great quick quilt – I love the stripes this way, and may have to give it a whrl. I have a few jelly rolls that are begging to be used!

  3. April 24, 2011 5:42 pm

    I love the Doodle Bricks with the white – if makes the colors “pop” – Deanna, Skinfizzical.com

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 943 other followers

  • Moda Bake Shop

    Quilting Gallery Logo

  • Quilt Hope In - Quilter Button

  • Archives


  • Quilting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
